Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Project Lydia

2 Comments

I got my “real” computer back last night. Wow, it’s like coming home to get my fingers back on this keyboard. Nice!

We met #1 son and DIL for dinner last night so we could get it back. While we were there, I gave DIL a little gift I bought her in Kansas. It’s a long necklace, made in African women.

You know, it really is a Small Town World, and the women who make these things are our neighbors in this SMT!

I bought my goodies from the woman in the middle of this picture. She’s a missionary to Uganda, and very interesting! (There were lots of vendors at the festival, but this is the only one I bought from.)

You can read all about it at http://projectlydia.org/ The woman was nice, sincere and had a lot of love for the women she works with.

The women hand make jewelry, dolls, small bags woven from food packages (like Doritos and Lays) and banana leaf baskets to sell so they can support themselves.

 I bought necklaces

and a basket.

The necklace can also be worn like a multi-strand bracelet.

And the best part? They’re made from recycled paper. Magazines, mostly, I think. And they have six layers of varnish on them.

The baskets are made from banana leaves, right out of the women’s gardens, so there’s almost no overhead. The had all sizes, with the most expensive costing around $40.00. Not a bad deal!

I think I might have to do more shopping online. They really have some great stuff. Practically everything is made from recycled products. (Save the planet.) The prices are right. (Save the wallet.) AND you’re helping other women. (Save a soul.)

Don’t you love it?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Project Lydia

  1. Love the necklace idea, so pretty!!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

