Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Wedding Joy

9 Comments

The wedding was beautiful!

Fun! Joyful, even.

And yes, of course, I cried.

The groom was so handsome! (So were all the groomsmen!!!) The bride was beautiful and very sincere.

The ring bearers were wonderful! (Groomsman Bradley bribed the smaller one with Gummy Bears to keep him closeby, until he fell right off the stage!)

The flowergirls were so cute! One wasn’t sure she was going to go down the aisle, so while we peeked out a window to see a few pictures being taken, I told them how important their job was. “Each petal you drop is a blessing for the bride and groom. It’s important that you drop them all the way to the front so Matt and Nikki will have a happy marriage.”

They did a perfect job. And when they got to the front, the older one sat right down on the steps and made herself at home!

Preacher Dave was wonderful. If I’d been writing his part, I couldn’t have done a better job. He voiced exactly what I knew in my heart. Both sets of parents were asked to take part in helping the new couple form their home–not the house, where they live place. The where-ever-we-are-as-long-as-we’re-together-we-have-a-home place.

We promised.

He told the couple that marriage would teach them a lot about love.

And all the people said, “Dur!” Ü

I’m not being disrespectful to Preacher Dave. I’ve just been married long enough to realize that I had no idea what love was until I lived through a lot of what life had to throw at us.

The fires of this world can either turn the first blush of love to ash or it will change it to a patina that only becomes more beautiful as the years go by.

At the reception I danced with my son. I can’t tell you the name of the song he picked. Whatever it was (and I’m sure I’ll find out one of these days) the parts I heard voiced perfectly my feelings Saturday.

While we danced, I told him he’d been one of the greatest joys of my life. (Along with his two brothers.)

Looking back, I’d only change one thing. I wish I’d asked them to use the verse I asked Preacher Tom to quote in my wedding to G-Man so long ago–

But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.  Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the LORD deal with me, be it ever so severely, if even death separates you and me.” Ruth 1:16-17

Yes, I know Ruth was speaking to her MIL, Naomi. But I think it was because of Ruth’s love for her deceased husband that she said it. Don’t you know she would have said it to him if she’d been able to?

That’s my prayer for the new Mr. and Mrs. Shay.

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

9 thoughts on “Wedding Joy

  1. It sounds like the wedding was a wonderful celebration of love and family; just as it should be. All those questions, doubts, and the self imposed pressure is now gone. Time to relax…just one trivial question inquiring minds want to know. How did you handle the offending digit?

  2. I’ve been waiting for your report on the wedding. Thanks so much for sharing. I almost feel as if I were there.

    What a wonderful day…and a wonderful ceremony. It all sounds absolutely PERFECT! 🙂

  3. Everything sounds so perfect. And you did a great job with the flower girls. I’m sure they were adorable. I can’t wait to see the pictures!

    (Btw, I posted a comment earlier that disappeared into la la land. What’s up with that?) 😦

    • Hey,
      That’s the way I talked to my kids, so I figured it might work with them. They were great little girls! I’d make ’em my own grandkids if I could.

  4. Steve,
    It was great! It gave me one more thing to chat about with guests.
    When in doubt, point the finger out! LOL!!!
    BTW: I tried wrapping a “diamond” bracelet around it, but it just didn’t work out. Then I got eyeliner on it while putting on my makeup and dotted my face a few times before I discovered it.
    But it all came out (or off, as the case may be) just fine!

  5. The wedding was wonderful — very much a celebration. The mother of the groom was beautiful, Matt was handsome and Nikki was gorgeous. If we could bottle that smile of hers . . .

    We had a great time, and I especially loved the pastor’s line about Matt devoting the first full year to making Nikki happy . . . though he’s already done that just by falling in love with her.

    • You’re not too bad with words yourself, Marilyn!
      I thought Preacher Dave did a great job! A year of no work, just happy making would be fine with me!
      (Wonder if I could talk G-Man into remarrying so he could spend a year . . . 🙂 )
      I was so thrilled you and Bob were able to come. You looked gorgeous! Thank you so much for being there!
      LY!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

