Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Truly, Truly Fair

20 Comments

Brother Jeffrey called the office today and asked for Trudy Fair. The secretary who answered the phone said, “I think you have the wrong number, sir.”

He was talking about me.

Of coure, I had to fill in the rest of the story. 😉

I was a cranky baby. I know you can’t believe it, but here’s proof.

Don’t you just love my “get outta my face” look? LOL.

For some reason, when I was a baby my parents had to put drops in my eyes. Apparently, I didn’t like having drops put in my eyes, and don’t forget, I was naturally cranky, so I’d keep them squenched closed as tight as I could.

You can’t sit on an infant and hold her head between your knees so you can have two hands free to pry open eyes and administer drops (that’s how I got pink-eye drops in my boys’ eyes when they fought the med–but they weren’t infants!)

Anyway, my dad came up with a solution. He sang to me–but only one song would get me to open my eyes.

Truly, Truly Fair. Ever heard that song? Me, either, except from Mom and Dad. (Dad must have liked it a lot!)

So Dad started calling me Truly Fair, then it changed to Trudy Fair and sometimes Trudy.

The really funny thing is, I had a good friend in college who called me Trudy, too. And she’d never heard the story. She just shortened Susan to Susie (ugh!) and Susie to Trudy.

That cranky baby got happier. I promise.

See?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

20 thoughts on “Truly, Truly Fair

  1. Susan, Love the story & the song, but the pictures are just great!! 🙂

  2. What a great story & such a good lookin family

  3. Oh what a great childhood we had with perfect parents! What a blessing!
    Love you, Trudy Fair, Bug

  4. Susan,
    In my family, having a nickname was a sign of love and respect. Or picking on you, I’m not sure which… but LOVE.

    We nickname everyone in my family. We do it without thinking. I met a gal who was deeply offended by a nickname her family/friends used and I can remember just stopping to think, what? It wasn’t a bad name, it was kind of cute. But she got her panties in a wad. I don’t get it.

    My dad asked his #2 grandson what his name was one day, the little guy (4 years old) said it was Really Brian!! (emphasis his) To this day, my father calls his thirty something year old Really. I think it’s adorable. spw

    • It’s so good to “see” you, Sandee!
      In my family, if you got upset about a nickname, you’d have to be upset all the time! We love them.
      I pass out nicknames (right now my DIL2b is Nicolette after the Big Love character) but my grandad and Uncle Frank were the real pros.
      UF still is.
      I’ll have to remember to write a post about that one of these days.

  5. I love the pics too. I don’t remember seeing the first one, you don’t look too happy, do you?
    I love the nicknames, and the stories we share about each other!
    LY

  6. Well in our house we have itnit, dal dal, mal mal, bubba and Kyla lyla. But really thinking of changing Eric to hunky uncky…love you!

    Tinnie woo-woo

    • I’m glad you’re feeling good enough to read blogs! How’s the knee? Love the Hunky Uncky name! I remember a cute little girl called Mallory Gallery over there!

  7. Hi,
    I’ve been gone and had to catch up. That song was worth coming over to visit! I would have loved to hear your dad sing that. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Nicknames « Small Town World . . .

  9. Such wonderful memories! Love your blog and stories of your family and our little “Mayberry” upbringing.

  10. Small town, large families….the best! We didn’t have many nicknames, it was hard enough getting the name right when you hollered for someone. Mother was quick to squash any nickname that could have been embarrassing later on! I was grateful for that! Trudy and no. 4 are fine, I even know who no. 4 is!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

