Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Waiting . . .

8 Comments

Waiting is so much fun. :{

Today, I’m waiting on DTV. I did that yesterday, too. Yesterday, the guy couldn’t do what the guy today has to do. It’s a kids-started-this-on-the-4th-why-do-I-have-to-stay-home thing.

So, while I’m home, I’m searching, trying to decide what to do for the rehearsal dinner. Yeah, I’m a real plan ahead kind of gal. *rolls eyes*

So . . . what to do?

Lori Lucas had a great idea with a guy and a covered wagon last year when her son married. I was excited as I read her blog, but the mere possibility of rain made the man cancel at the last minute. (I was amazed she didn’t find him and damage his wagon. That was so not a good thing to do to an impending MOG!)

Soooo I’m looking for help, again. I need suggestions for what/how to do the rehearsal dinner. We can do it in our church’s fabulous new fellowship hall, if I know what to do.

One thing–Please, don’t suggest fried chicken. That ain’t gonna happen unless it’s from Homeland!

Ideas?

Ps: Steve, if you’re around you can absolutely tell me this time that no one will notice what we have for the rehearsal dinner. I’d love to hear that! 😉

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “Waiting . . .

  1. Hey…Have you thought about asking Deanna Ferguson…she does an awesome job…or Steer Inn does a great job of catering too…

  2. at my first wedding, we had a Hawaiian luau, complete with stuffed pig and leis. You could do that, have guests wear brightly printed Hawaiian shirts. Have servers (if you have any) wear grass skirts. The room was decorated with that theme. It’s pretty easy to do and fun.

    • Martha Stewart has a luau in the book I was reading yesterday. But the cooked baby pig made me want to cry. He looked as if he could oink. 😦
      When I was a little kid, Mama had to tell me the big bad wolf lock grandma in the closet. If she told me he ate her, I cried. I’m kinda tender hearted that way.
      Love your picture, btw. You look like a big time writer! (thrilled for you!)

  3. My first question would be where are you going to have the dinner i.e. home, backyard, commercial establishment, etc?Thinking back over several occasions, serve yourself vs. sit down dinners would go to serve yourself in my opinion. Rehersal dinners tend to be loud and fun so informal works well. I could easily see ribs, brisket with traditional sides. From a guy’s point of view, whatever and plenty of it.

    • Plenty of food. Got it! Thanks, Steve! 😉
      I’m so not a formal type person. I’m thinking about buffet yummers at the church OR drive to a Tulsa restaurant.
      I wonder if Ted’s Mexican restaurant has a private room?

  4. FYI: YES TED’S HAS A PRIVATE ROOM!!!!!!!!

    But, Dari Diner BBQ, with sides like tabouli and cabbage rolls from Joseph’s sound soooooo good.

    Basically, the last rehersal dinner I put together, we picked up from Joseph’s and had it at the church. Fun and good.

    There’s lots of things we can do! quit worrying, we’ll get it done!

    Love ya!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

