Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

A Holiday with a Bang

Leave a comment

Did you have a great 4th?

I took this! I forget who set it off, but isn’t it pretty? 🙂

We did. And today I’m exhausted. But it’s good exhausted. I cooked and cleaned in the morning, and fried chicken all afternoon with Nikki–DIL2b. After dinner, which concluded with cake and homemade ice cream (yum!!!) we had fireworks. I didn’t even have to beg this year.

This is #1. Loves the firework thing.

I thought I’d share a few of my pics from last night with you. I’m not a great photographer, but it was so much fun I wanted to share.

Here you go–

 I think I can safely say, sparklers were the favorite firework of the night. Looks like a bonfire, but it’s just a lot of sparklers.

These things were huge and made a neon colored light.

Circles. Make circles!

Love it when the kids take directions.

Cool, huh?

This next one is one of my favorites.

Don’t you love the way Nicole (also a DIL2b) makes the sparks look like a shower?

As the darkness grew, we started seeing what #1 called flying saucers. Aliens. I started  believing him until BB said they were flying laterns and everyone had seen them in a movie called The Hangover. (I must have slept through that one.)

It’s a big paper bag with a net thing inside that you light.

This was so exciting because we live in a neighborhood on the lake. And the wind was blowing.

What I really enjoyed was watching them all work together. You don’t often see people working together without a hitch. But they did. It was beautiful as they let it go. I had the hose nearby, just in case the breeze caused it to dip onto the house next door.

The bag didn’t catch on fire. It didn’t fly into our neighbor’s house. Instead, it flew out across the lake. G-Man watched it with his binoculars for as long as it was in sight.

It lifted off and headed toward heaven. I wonder how high those things really can go?

So . . . did you have a great holiday? Fried chicken or hot dogs? Lake or stay at home? I just loving knowing how other people spend their holidays.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

