Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

*Wedding Dress Blues Continued

10 Comments

I don’t know what I’m doing wrong, but I lost the rest of my last post, so here’s where we left off . . .

This is the first dress that caught my eye. Yes, that’s the entire dress. No leggings to go with it and, thanks to Cher’s pioneering efforts, perfectly acceptable for me to wear (if I was tan, svelte and had super high heels to wear with it) to my son’s wedding.

Not.  🙂

Here’s the next one I pulled out. I think I remember wearing that same dress to my first piano recital (I was 7) except in a different color.

Question: I’m not up on all the latest fashion rules and regs for MOGs, but if a mom wears all black to her son’s wedding, is she transmitting a silent message? As if she’s in mourning or something?

Because I absolutely would not want to do that either of my sons’ weddings. I love both my dil2bs. 

Back to my shopping adventure. Clears throat. Sighs.

Not a map of Russia.

Wait. Maybe that is a map of Russia worked into this jacket. I can’t remember now why this one wouldn’t work. Size? Or maybe it had a long skirt and I don’t want to wear long. (Daytime wedding.)

I remembered they have some dresses and skirts and things in the separates department, so I hopped the escalator and zipped down there. Here’s what I found.

When I saw these oversized garments on the skinny mannequin bodies, a vision of starving orphans in a foreign country came to mind. And one question.

Why?

Finally I found this dress.

I texted Sister Debbie that I now understood what Sackcloth was in the Bible.

She texted back, “Are you going to wear ashes with it?”

If I can’t find something I like better than that? YES! 🙂

I’m starting to think a new pair of jeans with a little bling on the pockets would make a great MOG outfit.

I got some great advice on Facebook the other day. Carol Moore said when her boys got married she was told to wear beige and keep her mouth shut.

I laughed out loud!

So what do you think is best for a MOG? Lockjaw and beige? Black? Any color at all as long as the spandex in the fabric doesn’t suck it so tightly, I look like the Michelin Tire Man?

Any votes for blingy jeans? 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

10 thoughts on “*Wedding Dress Blues Continued

  1. I’m thinking the first thing over a skirt……could be a prairie type, or an A-line (no wait that was a Home-Ec flashback)……

    Just curious if you’d tried Belks (Sr. Day is Tuesday and we get extra off…. 🙂

    Am certainly the queen of fashion as might remember, (if you like the Annie Hall look)…..

    • AAAAACK! Please don’t mention Home Ec. I still have nightmares about wearing what I sewed, pulling a thread as I walk into school and having the whole thing fall off. LOL.
      Haven’t tried Belks. I’ll put it on the list.
      I’ve always liked the Annie Hall look. Can’t pull it off intentionally, but I end up looking like that when I’m in a hurry!
      Thanks for coming by.

  2. This post made me smile because it brought back memories of last summer when Lisa was in the same dilemma for Ryan’s wedding. She had all the same concerns. She found a cute dress at White House, Black Market. Yes, most of their dresses are black, white, or some combination of the two. After she FINALLY made a decision to wear a shorter little black dress that we all agreed on, she still wasn’t quite sure about wearing black to the wedding. So, she actually found the beautiful, long cream and black print dress that she wore all by herself at Dillards. I know that you will find “the dress” and look stunning.

    • I love you, Nicole! You’re so encouraging.
      I think Lisa and I live with all the same worries. We really don’t want to look like we’re wearing sackcloth in wedding pictures that people will still be looking at in 50 years.
      And our mama was so gorgeous and naturally in-the-know about everything. We all want to be just like her.
      Thanks for the pep-talk. Wish me luck today. (And pray for God to give Debbie a long suffering spirit. It’ll be hot and sticky.
      LY

  3. Ugh, I started at a bridal store, where most of the MOG dresses I saw looked like they were meant for GREAT-GRANDmother of the groom. They were all so old!!

    At the mall — Dillard’s, maybe? — I bought the first one I tried on. It had to be long, at the bride’s request, but it’s something I could wear again without any problem. (And woohoo, now I fit into it better than ever, even without the Spanx!). I didn’t want to compete with the bride’s dress, of course — never could have! — but I also didn’t want to look 180 years old.

    You’ll find the perfect dress, and you’ll look beautiful!

    • I’m so thrilled you had that surgery. Can’t wait to see the results! I just wish I could have a tummy tuck. Right now my tummy wants to be let out rather than tucked. 😦
      Will you make RWI next week?
      Yikes. I forgot to blog over there. sigh.

      • I plan to be there dancing. I was thinking new outfit (!), but I’ll still be wearing the binder, so I’ll probably wait till it’s gone to go shopping.

  4. Susan, I have a darling ivory color skirt & top/jacket. It is a light brocade material. Was $200 @ Dillards- got it onclearance for 30 dollars. It’s a size 10 or 12 , i believe. You’re welcome to borrow it if you become desperate:)

  5. Pingback: New Super-Hero « Small Town World

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

