Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Garden Touring!

4 Comments

I mentioned over at WRITINGSLUTS that I went to a garden tour this week. I don’t know if you’ve noticed before, but when you’re in a garden, everyone is a friend!

I went out Thursday morning, and then took Omega out on Friday. We had so much fun! Even ran into a few people who tried to pretend they didn’t know me. I didn’t let ’em get away with it though. 🙂

I thought I’d share my pictures with you.

This is the front of the garden shed Vickie had built (envy, envy). It fits perfectly into her landscape. I want one!

Trellis/garden bench.


I don’t remember the name of this one, but it’s fuzzy like bunny ears. So pretty!

Such a beautiful entry for her house!

Blanket flower and mumble mumble. (forgot again)

She keeps these Cleome (spider flowers) in pots because they’re so invasive.

I didn’t catch this fella’s name, but he came from Bustani Plant Farm in Stillwater, OK.

This is Papyrus. Yep, like the Egyptians used to write on. Vickie says they take a lot of water, but they’re so different! Worth the trouble.

Okay, besides working, trying to survive a cold/pneumonia and sleeping too much, that’s what I’ve been up to. Where’ve you been keeping yourself?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Garden Touring!

  1. I think the fuzzy stuff is lamb’s ear. 🙂 We went to Sand Springs today to talk to a builder about a pavillion in our back yard. We are building it for our daughter’s wedding and will be enjoying it for years to come after that! It will be based on a pergola style but with a redwood color metal roof so it will be rain proof. We plan on a hot tub out there in the future. And a grill with some table and chairs too. I am excited to get it done. We ate at Los Cabos. We both had a trio of fish tacos. One with Mahi Mahi, one with shrimp and the other was a mixture of crab and scallops. Yum! We also visited Jack Wills Outdoors to look at some playground equipment for Lola. We won’t buy from there (too expensive). I found a place to order it online from Kansas at about half the price. I shop around!

  2. Now that sounds like a great excuse to build a pavillion! I’ll be wishing I had one of those, too, I’ll bet! Can’t wait to see your pictures.
    You’re right, those are Lamb’s Ears. I never remember because all I can think is, ‘they look like rabbit ears, not lamb. LOL!
    FISH TACOS? My officemate loves them but, ack! I just can’t seem to get my mind around them. I love shrimp, though. And Shrimp Po’boys are my favorite! Where’s Los Cabos? Is that on the River Walk?
    Don’t you love Jack Wills? He is super expensive, but great ideas!
    There used to be a place that sold a lot of that stuff on the way to Branson. Like in Bentonville, maybe? I remember wishing for some of it, but G-Man built a set for our boys and my sister’s one year for Christmas. (Grandmommie paid, G worked. Took forever but it was wonderful!)
    I really think we’re related, Terri. Just can’t prove it. 😉

  3. We can be sisters in Christ. 🙂 We’ve got the pavillion on Midwest Builder’s schedule for August. Yea! Los Cabos is right next to Bass Pro.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

