Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Father’s Day

2 Comments

Did you celebrate Father’s Day? I know, it’s a Hallmark holiday (ie: made up to sell more cards) but I really enjoy having a day to honor our dads.

I spent yesterday morning worshipping My Father sitting next to my father. I love worshipping with the man who gave me life. Or would that be men?

Anyway, it was a great morning.

Here’s Dad acting silly at his office birthday celebration one year. He’s a great guy to work for!

Yesterday evening we went to #1 son and DIL’s house for a smoked rib dinner. #1 is (finally) in his new house, which is an older home that they’ve refinished. We loved the house. Loved the yard! (They’ve let the rear part of the big back yard naturalize, so it looks like the tall grass prairie. Absolutely beautiful!

I went out with #1 while he checked the smoking ribs and he told me that he plans to put in an outdoor kitchen and how he plans to do it. (I put in a bid on the plants they’ll have to remove!)

We got to meet Gozer, the newest member of the family.

Sosfan4

Image via Wikipedia

We chatted and laughed and had a great time. Oh, and G-Man opened presents and cards.

The food was delicious. The house was gorgeous! And we were all so comfortable, I thought we might just curl up and spend the night.

Instead, we took off our shoes, kicked back and had a wonderful time, being together.

Is there anything nicer than having the entire family together, enjoying one another? Not a whole lot, I’m thinking.

Oh, back to my dad. This is the guy who, when he wants something, he goes right out and buys it. One year, he said all he wanted for Father’s Day was a straw hat for working in the garden. So we got together and decided to give him six hats, one from each of his kids. 🙂 (He’s lucky we didn’t include the grandkids. LOL) If he gets something he doesn’t really want or thinks he won’t use, he’ll give it back or to someone else.

Not wanting to be the one to have my present handed off this year, I gave him eight pepper plants. (I heard him say he didn’t have any sweet peppers in his garden.) And I got him two bottles of a great new (to us) salad dressing. We love it, so it’ll be just fine if he gives it back. LOL!

I hope you had a fantastic Father’s Day and while you were at it, thanked your Father in heaven for the earthly father He chose for you. You’re a perfect fit!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day

  1. We had a very happy Father’s Day too. My youngest daughter and her soon-to-be husband and Lola went to church with us. They are going to have our pastor do their wedding so they will soon be counseling with him. My oldest daughter and her fiancee’ Caleb and my son John met us at home after church. Our electricity had gone off some time in the morning after we left for church so I came home wondering if my roast would be done. It was cooked perfectly and still steaming hot. Everything worked out wonderfully with the electricity coming back on just after we finished eating. Then we watched True Grit (Jeff Bridges version) that my son gave to his dad as a present. That was a perfect movie. I loved the part where Rooster is taking Maddie to the doctor and the music soundtrack is playing “Leaning on the Everlasting Arms”. Eddie said later that it was hard not getting emotional during that part because of your own children. He hardly ever gets emotional. So that was pretty moving. Family. It’s good.

    • You had a wonderful FD, Terri! I’m so glad. Time together with the fam is a perfect way to spend a day.
      I loved that movie, too!!! I didn’t know it was out on DVD. Gotta get it!
      Nice chatting with you. 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

