Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Christian Church in Old Ford

7 Comments

When I was a little girl, Mama took me to the Christian Church in the Ford. Every memory I have of that church has a smile attached to it. Either it was a really happy-and-on-our-way-to-heaven place or I was just too young to catch on to the human conflicts. (Probably the age thing.)

I remember a grandmotherly woman with soft wrinkles and a soft lap and a sweet smile. Her husband liked to stand with his hands behind his back and rock from his heels to his toes and back again. Mom told me after I was grown their names were Mr. and Mrs. Krotzer.

I remember being a flower girl (drop one petal at a time as you step-stop-step-stop down the aisle) along with my same-age cousin in a beautiful young woman named Kay’s wedding.

And I remember having super nice Sunday School teachers. I’m not very clear on this memory, but I seem to remember two of them. Nancy Krotzer and Helen Sissom. I don’t remember many lessons, but I remember looking forward to being there.

Each week, the SS teacher taught us a new verse. When it was time for church to start, the teacher would lead our class out of the room and we’d line up on the stage in front of the podium. Then the teacher would help us repeat our verse.

Mom said one Sunday, we all said our verse and, as usual, the congregation chuckled. I’m sure it was a ‘we love you’ laugh, but I didn’t like it. *embarrassed here* I put my hands on my hips and yelled, “What’s so funny?” They laughed louder.

Great idea, getting kids started memorizing at the get-go, isn’t it? The ability to memorize helps us in so many ways–learning (remember taking tests?) making friends and influencing people, picking up on how-to-do-its.

Memorizing God’s word can affect us for eternity.

So like I’ve mentioned several times, I joined a group of women called the Siesta Scripture Memorization Team and on the 1st and 15th, we memorize a new one.

The cute one in the hat is #4. (I thank God for you every time you come to mind.)

As a way to remain close (closer, closest) even though we don’t get to see each other often enough, #4 and I have joined forces in this. And every other week, it seems I have a new favorite.

Here’s what we’ve memorized so far. (Or tried to memorize.)

1/1–Eph. 3:18
1/15–1 Pet. 3:9
2/1–Eph. 1:18
*2/15–Num. 6:24-26
3/1–Phil. 4:5-7
3/15–Psm 119:10
4/1–Psm 46:10
4/15–Rom. 4:20
5/1–Psm. 34:4
*5/15–Luke 1:46
*6/1–Eph. 1:3

Look the up. They’re wonderful.

The ones with stars are my favs. I think. (Kind of like trying to decide which is your favorite son. Impossible!) Could be they’re the ones I can remember without too much help. Too bad I don’t have a small Miss Helen/Nancy on my shoulder to help me along.

BTW: #4, this one’s for you!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

7 thoughts on “Christian Church in Old Ford

  1. Hi Susan, I remember Mr. & Mrs. Krotzer, too ~ such very nice people. Mr. Krotzer & Granddad Mitchell were both on the Mannford Board of Education for many years – 32 years for Granddad, I think.

    That may have been Kay (Ward) Bartley’s wedding you were in back then and I think the whole town attended her wedding. Kay has or had an insurance agency in the new town of Mannford. And, she is on FB, too.

    Keep the good stories comin’ ~ I enjoy reading them!

  2. thanks. I thought you had forgotten.
    I will make a copy and start over.
    Ly

  3. Yes, it was Kay Ward’s wedding. She was the sister of my mom’s sister-in-law and (good friend) Louise. (Mom was kind of proud of helping Louise and her brother, Joe, get together.)

    Everyone in the Ford was so close, I thought we were all related. LOL.

    I gave my 3rd son Louise’s brother’s name for his middle name. Douglas. I saw him at Uncle Joe’s funeral a couple of years back. He’s still a pretty nice guy!!

  4. Brought mom home from Church tonight and had her read your story. She said you were right it was Kay and Virgil’s wedding. Uncle Virgil went on to be with the Lord in 08, Dad in 07. Kay sold her insurance business last year. Her and mom are living together and taking care of each other in Mannford.

    • Hey Joe,
      Wow. I hope I was kind of accurate. LOL. I thought your aunt made such a beautiful bride. I’d love to see her wedding pictures sometime and see if my memories are close. 🙂
      Hey, I remember a door in the floor on the stage of that church th at opened to become the baptistry. Ask your mom if that’s the way it was or if I dreamed it, would you please?
      Thanks! (Love you, Louise!)

  5. Mom said your are right about the baptistry, but does not have a clue how you remember things like you do. She had to stop and think about it for a minute. I’m with her, I feel like I have had to many Birthdays and I know you have had more than me!! LOL

    • Ooh, Joe Ray. Don’t forget, I know where you live. (LOL) I think I remember the baptistry because I was so surprised when they opened it up the first time. Sometimes I don’t remember what I had for breakfast. (Never forget to eat it though)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

