Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Serendipity

4 Comments

According to Wikipedia–

Serendipity is when one finds something that one was not expecting to find. The word has been voted as one of the ten English words that were hardest to translate in June 2004 by a British translation company. However, due to its sociological use, the word has been exported into many other languages.

In the simplest of words, it means a “happy accident”.

I like that definition, don’t you? I caught a few happy accidents and thought I’d share. Let me know what you think.

 The extreme red in the sunrise didn’t really show up, but it was gorgeous. Remember that old saying, “Red in the morning, sailors take warning?” It held true that day.

These plants break off and grow where they land.

This sunflower wasn’t planted by me. We feed the local wild birds sunflower seeds . . .

and to repay us, they planted this with my herbs.

Not bad repay, huh? Maybe we can keep the birds from eating the seeds coming here until we have time to harvest them. Or not. LOL.

I went with Dad to get gas yesterday, and saw this little fellow hot-footing it across the gravel. At first I thought it was a leaf blowing, until I noticed how even its movement was.

Smile!

He hid like this until I picked him up. Then he ran from one of my palms to the other over and over again. He was all of 1 or 1-1/2 inches the long way and so cute.

I took him back to the office to show the kiddos there, and handed him to one of the little girls. To keep him safe I put him in a clear plastic cup with a lock-down lid that I punched a hole in.

She was so excited, she ran to little Deegan (about 10 months old) and said, “Can you believe anybody gave me a pet turtle?”

She named him Carzel. (I think.)

Now I have a new definition for serendipity: Surprises that make me smile.

Anything surprised a grin out of you lately?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Serendipity

  1. “Serendipity is when one finds something that one was not expecting to find.”

    I’m working on “My” Serendipity as we speak, although, more appropriately, I’m resting from “My” Serendipity.

    While opening our above ground pool, I looked at crystal clear water that looked as though the bottom of the pool had large worms?

    Alas, a nasty mole had graciously undermined the pool this past winter with tunnels that caused a
    “Serendipity is when one finds something that one was not expecting to find.”

    As a loving, caring, husband, grandfather, etc, I drained 14,000 gallons of now, algae infested water trash, bugs and 1 Green Frog to pull the liner, fill the tunnels, add mole/gopher bait, reinstall liner, add 14,000 gallons of water, chemicals and have all this ready for a delightful weekend.

    That’s my “Serendipity is when one finds something that one was not expecting to find” and I’m stickin to it. 🙂

    • That doesn’t sound like a happy surprise to me, but whatever floats your boat, Larry. Was there a worm or was it the tunnel?
      Only one green frog? My pond is full of tadpoles. It won’t hold much water right now, but what’s there is full of the little wigglers. LOL.
      You’re a good husband, grandfather, etc.
      Who knew an above ground pool held 14000 gallons of water? That’s a bunch!

  2. No Susan, it was not a happy surprise, but it was something I didn’t expect. 🙂

    Apparently a mole went under pool liner searching for grubs. The weight of the water pushed the liner down into the small tunnels creating voids under liner.

    First year we had the swimming pool, an Armadillo decided it needed to dig a hole under the edge of pool. The weight of water pushed liner down into hole, creating a void about the size of a bushel basket. I didn’t want anyone to step in hole causing liner to break and spill all that water through flower/shrub beds.
    The life of swimming pool owner goes on. 🙂

    • I know after Mom and Dad built their pool, Mom worked harder than ever keeping it clean and doing all the magic it takes to make a pool swimable. Then she’d do a lot of the yard work to keep the rest of the place looking nice.
      She worked way more than she swam.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

