Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Candice Pics

5 Comments

Funny picture, isn’t it? It’s a bird house on my deck with dill blooms in front of  it. I’m really not a great photographer. (If it’s good, it’s usually an accident. LOL) But just about anyone can make a picture look decent.

I use Photoshop Elements to fix most of my shots. (Cheating? Probably.)

Here’s another “fixed” one I like.

 It’s one I supposedly texturized, but I don’t see the texture. And, to be honest, I don’t remember how I did it. It’s an Elements thing where you layer the texture over the picture or the picture over the layer or something. 

One of these days I’ll get out my notes and give it another go. Right now I’m trying to learn how to use my camera the way it should be used. How to set the camera on the Program mode and shoot. How to get the lighting right.

I’m not the best in the world at reading how to and doing it. I’m better at learning with someone else teaching me. That hands on kind of thing.

I have several friends who are fantastic photographers. Some of them do it without thinking. Candice Orcutt, a friend from my Small Town World, is one of those naturals, and she works hard at it. She also has great taste in fiction. 🙂

Here are a few of Candice’s pictures from Facebook. (Hope she doesn’t mind.) I’ve seen some of her other pictures I like as well if not better. She takes wonderful pictures of barbed wire! I know it sounds odd, but they’re beautiful.

  Don’t you love the lighting in this one?

I love her “view” of life. It’s just enough different to make me say, “Wow!”

Good lookin’ couple she sneaked up on, huh?

Anyone who can make this look this good has real talent!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

5 thoughts on “Candice Pics

  1. I read the quote “Anyone who can make this look this good has real talent!” and I thought you were talking about OUR picture. lol

    • LOL. Nope. I love that picture of you guys. Where’d you take it?
      I started to say sometime about her fixation with toilets (she posted a clean one on FB last night) but I got side tracked.
      LY!

  2. I recognize those kids in that pic! Its so sweet!
    LY

  3. I was going to say, “Isn’t that . . .?” but then I read the comments, so I know! Great pictures — both yours and Candice’s.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

