Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Bible School

1 Comment

The preach announced that there would be a Bible School meeting this week, and those wonderful childhood memories came rushing back.

I loved Bible School when I was a kid. Two weeks of going to church every morning and having nice women teach us about God, help us do crafts and give us treats was my idea of a great time.

Some of my earliest memories are Bible School in the Ford. We went to the Christian Church, and while I don’t remember the preacher’s name, I remember the way Mr. Krotzer, the Sunday School Superintendent, used to rock up on his toes and down, again and again.

I remember my SS teacher was a pretty girl named Helen. I was a little confused at VBS when she wasn’t my teacher, but I had fun anyway because we did crafts. (Popsicle sticks had a big part of my life.) We learned stories that continued from day-to-day. And that was when all the kids from little to big played wonderful games.

VBS was where I first played Farmer in the Dell. And Red Rover. We didn’t watch a film or do things inside. We got out and ran! Almost anytime a large group of kids came together, there were games that involved everyone. Kids learned to take care of the little ones and get along with the big. 

I went to VBS nearly all the way through high school, and taught after that. Back then, parents encouraged–no, they insisted–their children go. Where else would they learn about how much God loved them?

Remember the songs we sang?

Deep and wide, deep and wide, there’s a fountain flowing deep and wide.

The B-i-b-l-e, yes that’s the book for me. I stand alone on the word of God, the B-i-b-l-e.

Jesus loves me, this I know, for the Bible tells me so. Little ones to him belong, we are weak but He is strong.  

Remember felt boards and modeling clay? I taught two-year-olds one year, and they had so much fun together, I couldn’t get their attention. (Hey, they were two.) So I made some silly sock puppets and used a funny voice. They listened with rapt attention.

Oh, and the wonderful Bible truths we learned. The Garden of Eden. Adam and Eve, Cane and Abel. How God changed Abram’s name. David and Goliath. The miracle of Jesus’s birth. Jesus when He was twelve and being left at the temple. Jesus and his disciples. Jesus’s miracles–Turning water to wine. Walking on water. Calming the storm. Dying on a cross and rising on the third day.

One of the things I remember most about VBS was the way the women who taught it enjoyed what they were doing. Their love for God was obvious, and they shared that love with the kids they were teaching.

Knowing God and knowing about God is so very sweet. If you have a child in your life and possibly can, find a VBS for them to attend. You’ll both be blessed for it.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

One thought on “Bible School

  1. Oh, I loved VBS too! I loved everything about it. I liked the opening ceremony where everyone marched in to the sanctuary. I loved the musical notes that told you when to sit down and stand up. “Deep and Wide” was one of my favorite songs. Koolaid and homemade cookies. We always got to walk around several blocks from the church for an activity. I still can remember these walks in my dreams. I really do have an occasional dream about it. We picked up pine cones and of course made crafts. Popsicle sticks, so handy! I went every year too. Then taught after high school graduation. Those are great memories. We had two weeks, then later that was one week, and nowadays they can barely scrape up three days. Times they do change.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

