Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Mother’s Day

6 Comments

Amy and Jonna

Aren’t they just adorable? They were so close, they did nearly everything together. Amy, on the left, was football queen, and Jonna, on the right, was basketball queen.

Amy is my sister, and she’s at her senior prom with her Forever Friend. They’ve been friends since before they knew what the word meant, and they’ve been through everything together. Each has supported the other without doubt or question.

Here’s what Amy had to say about Mother’s Day on Facebook:

I got a mother’s weekend. We started out Friday night they took me to dinner@ Steer Inn, then we delivered a mother’s day gift to My step mother, Romanza. Sat. Night we went to Josephs, fabulous steak. Mother’s day they took me to Billy Simms BBQ. I have the best family! I’m so glad God allowed me to be a momma again!

Read that last line again. She’s so glad. I’m telling you, Amy is one of my life’s heroes. There’s no bitterness in this woman. She’s never fussed or fumed about her losses. Never asked if she was being punished. 

She only praises God for allowing her to be a momma again.

I’ve never known anyone who could go through what she has without complaining. We didn’t know if she’d be able to have more children after the awful wreck she lived through, but she not only had two babies, who are now big girls, she fed the last one from her own body. You’ve got to admire a woman like that.

I’ve seen her shed very few tears. (I’m a much bigger crier than she is.) She knows she’ll be with her daughters in eternity. I imagine our mom is celebrating Mother’s Day in heaven with them.  

And Who is leading that celebration?

 “Can a woman forget her own baby, and not love the child she bore?
Even if a mother should forget her child, I will never forget you.” Isaiah 49:15

“As a mother comforts her child,
   so will I comfort you;
   and you will be comforted over Jerusalem.” Isaiah 66:13

He knows!

If you’re a mom, I hope you got to be with your kids. If you couldn’t, thank God for them. They are a blessing!

If your mother is living, I hope you got to be with her. If not, I hope you thanked God for her.

How did you celebrate Mother’s Day?

 


Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. That is the EXACT text that Jeff preached from on Mother’s Day. It is so touching to know how much our God loves us and refuses to never forget us. I’m thankful for Aunt Amy too! Love you both!

    • Wow, Ashley. He preached about Tabitha/Dorcus? Kind of a WGT, huh? I thought it was an unusual text for Mom’s Day. But I like unusual! LOL. He does love us so much, we’re tattooed on his palms. How wonderful is that???
      We love you, Ashley. Is it Dr. Ashley yet? 😉

  2. Susan, I was just relating this to a man here at the office about Amy being thankful to God for allowing her to be a Momma again. She is such an inspiration to all Mothers. I am thankful to be a Mother, too, & so glad that Amy has been blessed with more children. Thanks for sharing.

    • She’s a real inspiration, Sharon. I’m not sure she knows it, but the focus of her life is to live so Christ shines in her. That’s saying something when your sister notices. LOL.

  3. I think that I make up for all the tears that Amy doesn’t shed.
    I am such a cry baby.
    I thank God that we know for CERTAIN that we will see those we love again.
    I miss Mom every single day, but I am so thankful that I had her in my life
    LY

    • Between the two of us, we make up for so many missing tears. LOL. We are certain, and thankful we have that joy to look forward to. I miss her, too, and wouldn’t trade a minute.
      LY2

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

