Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Branching Out

2 Comments

Ever notice that when you have something, that something ends up having you?

Get a car, and you’ll end up spending your time, taking care of upkeep and your dollars filling the tank. Or a dog–she’ll end up ruling the roost. (Happens that way at our house, anyway.)

What about your home? Whether you own your own house, rent one, live in an apartment, mobile home, cabin or a tent, you have to take care of it. (Unless you live under a bridge–in which case you probably won’t be reading this. LOL) Well, our yard decided to crack the whip recently.

 Not the best picture in the world, but that’s our front porch during a snow storm a couple of years ago.

 And this is the fall out from the trees in our yard. We’ve been collecting them for nearly a year, and our pile was looking really good. Seemed as if it grew even when we didn’t add to it. It was well on its way to taking over the neighborhood when it was decided that it couldn’t stay. Since it wouldn’t take off on its own (although the wind tried to blow it to the next yard . . . or county) we lended a hand. Well, G-Man did. 🙂 

He worked hard, loading branches and dead trees. I worked hard preserving the job for posterity.

This kid wandered past on his way home from work, so we talked him into helping. Not really! This is MS, who volunteered to help. Aren’t grown sons wonderful?

Of course, I saved everything for posterity. 🙂

Here’s the monster tree that laid down in a blustery storm last winter. He weighed about two tons, so G-Man dragged him off the trailer using a chain. Hey, my hands were full of camera! LOL.

After the branches were gone, we worked the rest of the day loading up and hauling away leaves. I’m not sure what was going on in that pile, but they multiplied faster than the trees could drop them. 

Makes you wonder, doesn’t it?

Oh, and I won the prize that day. I got a beautiful little seed tick on the back of my knee. And while I didn’t actually get to keep him, I did get a unending itch to scratch for what seemed like forever. 😉

Honestly, I’m so excited about getting to work in my gardens. I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen out there in the next few weeks.

I’m hoping for a whole lot of this!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Branching Out

  1. It doesn’t look like very much fun unless your the photographer.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

