Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Today’s the Day to Pray

8 Comments

I took photo with Canon camera.

Image via Wikipedia

This is the National Day of Prayer. Is it a day set aside for our entire nation to pray or a day set aside to pray for our nation? Whichever way you understand it, today is a day to pray!

According to Wikipedia, the first Thursday of May is “an annual day of observance held on the first Thursday of May, designated by the United States Congress, when people are asked ‘to turn to God in prayer and meditation’. The law formalizing its annual observance was enacted in 1952.”

So there has been a NDOP for a looooong time. I don’t know when I first heard about it, but it has always seemed just a little bit silly to me to set apart a day to pray. Don’t most Christians pray every day?

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (New International Version, ©2011)

 16 Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

 Did we need to have a day set aside for it?

Recently, I started thinking. (Good thing to do now and then.) It’s not really a day to remind Christians to pray. It’s a day set aside to remind everyone in the world that America is a praying Christian nation.

We may not all pray in the same posture. Some do it standing, some kneeling, others face down on the floor and yet others lifting hands to the Lord.

We don’t all pray the same prayers. Some pray only scripture, some prayers written by others and some of us wing it. 

And we don’t all pray in the same way. Some pray aloud, some silently, some murmuring and some through tears. (And some of us combine them all!)

But the point is, we are a praying Christian nation. And the world should know.

While I’m on the subject of prayer, I wanted to share a blog I happened on today that really blessed me. It’s written by a woman in Denver. I don’t know her, but I loved what she had to say.

This woman has a sweet voice, and on this blog she has a Bible Study she wrote on a “new” way to pray. (It’s not really new, but she shares it with a fresh view.)

If you have a moment, check it out. It’s called Pale Pearl. In the upper right hand corner, there’s a link to her Bible Study.

 In it she refers to scriptures that thrill the heart. James 4:8-“Come near to God and He will come near to you.” Zephaniah 3:17-“The Lord your God is with you, the mighty warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in His love He will no longer rebuke you but will rejoice over you with singing.

Don’t you love the idea of God taking great delight in you? Not just delight but great delight! And to think of God rejoicing over each one of us, singing, just brings me to tears. 

Check out Jennifer’s blog if you get the chance.  

And don’t forget to pause today to pray.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “Today’s the Day to Pray

  1. Susan, what a cool way to meet you! Thank you for mentioning my blog. I love your idea of the NDOP being a reminder that “America is a praying Christian nation.”

    Today, I’ll hold our nation in prayer!

    Blessings,
    Jennifer

    • Jennifer,
      I absolutely loved your blog and your Bible Study. What a blessing! Thank you for sharing with us. I’ll be coming back to visit again and again!
      America is a praying Christian nation. Thank you for joining with me in prayer.

  2. Susan, First of all, I enjoy all your posts. This caught my eye & thrilled my heart “in His love He will no longer rebuke you but will rejoice over you with singing”. I love to listen to good music & come from hearing my Mother sing for years. BUT, can you just imagine GOD singing with us??!! The great voices of Sandi Patti, Larnell Harris, the Gaithers, all the great voices from all over the world from the beginning of time, but I don’t think ANY will compare to God’s singing. To me, that must be the most beautiful music of all!!

    • Isn’t it a jolt to the heart to know that God enjoys each of us so much, he sings over us? I so love reading that and taking it in.
      It makes me think of when I first had my babies, when I’d stand over them to make sure they were still breathing. I’d sing to them just so they’d know even in their sleep how loved they were.
      And God loves me so much more than I can even imagine. How can anyone survive without accepting His love?
      Thanks for your comments. I’m not sure you know how they bless me– Tremendously!

      • Susan, You are the one that is the blessing to so many – Christ’s love shines through you with the words you share with us in your blog each day! 🙂

        • Thank you, Sharon. That’s my prayer.
          I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back. Ph. 3:12-14 The Message

  3. Pingback: The Prayer Persistant…it’s Thursday! « HOPEannFAITH

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

