Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Just One More Day!

2 Comments

Elementary kids gather around the American fla...

Image via Wikipedia

Are you excited? Do you feel the pressure mounting? It’s almost here!

Remember the “Obama stopped the National Day of Prayer” spoof someone got me with on Facebook? (Thanks, Larry.) I blogged about it here.

Tell me the truth. When you first heard that rumor, in that very first twinkle of an instant, did you think, He can’t do that. We don’t need presidential approval. We’ll do it on our own!

All right, maybe everyone isn’t like me (Be very glad about that!) but I was ready to line up people along C-Town’s main street so we could make a statement while we all prayed together on the National Day of Prayer.

Now it’s May. And the National Day of Prayer is the first Thursday of May. Let me repeat that. The first Thursday of May. That’s like, uh, tomorrow. I can’t believe the time has flown so quickly, and now it’s here.

Just one more day! And *sigh* I still don’t know how I’ll be spending the day. But I will be praying.

When I realized the time is nearly here, another thought hit. What are we supposed to be praying about? Is there assigned praying? You know what I mean. Has anyone issued a list of things that need praying about? Are they listed in the order of importance? Will we know what to ask?

Or is free-for-all praying–where you talk to God about any and everything–the order of the day?

Did you know there are 224,457,000 (that’s two hundred twenty four million!) Christians in America? If every Christian in America spent a portion of this Thursday praying for America, can you imagine what might happen?

“If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” 2 Chronicles 7:14.

If Christians (not everyone in America, just the ones who call themselves Christians) would humble themselves, pray, seek God’s face and turn from their wicked ways, then He will heal our land.

Be humble. Pray. Seek God. Turn away from sin. Isn’t that what being a Christian is about? Don’t all Christians already act like, well, Christians?

Apparently not.

From what I hear every day on the news and in the streets, our land needs healing, and needs it bad. We can do it–well, God can. If we’ll just act like the people we’re supposed to be.

So here’s my question for you. Will you pray tomorrow? And if so, what will you pray about?

I’ll be praying for America and her leadership. For my Small Town World. For my church and my family. And I’ll also be praying for a woman I’ve never met who has hit Another Lump in the Road.

What about you?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Just One More Day!

  1. 1 I exhort therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men; 2 For kings, and for all that are in authority; that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and honesty. 3 For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Saviour I Tim: 2: 1

    You’ve made the right choices. I know Julie from blogging for the past 4 years and she is my Facebook friend too. I’ve been praying for her also.

  2. Hey Terri!
    Julie’s interesting, isn’t she? And a fun read. I hope everything goes well with her. I love what she said about about the day she got her diagnosis she woke up with the song, “It is well with my soul” in her mind.
    It’s so good to know other people whose trust is in the Lord, isn’t it?
    Thank you for the scripture, sister!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

