Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Middle of April

6 Comments

 

This is not my backyard.

Just thought I’d clarify that so there wouldn’t be a misunderstanding.

This isn’t either. But I wouldn’t mind if it were. 🙂

Would you like to know where I took these pics?

Here’s a hint.

It’s called Coming Through the Rye. (I think.)

Can’t you just hear them shouting, “Yeehaw!” and shooting off their guns?

Isn’t he just full of personality? Old Fred Remington sure knew what he was doing when he sculpted this, didn’t he?

G-Man and I were at the National Cowboy Hall of Fame a few weeks back when I took these. Here’s another one of my favorites.

I don’t remember the name of the sculpture in the background, but it’s a Paint mare and her colt. And in the foreground? That’s a wild goose who decided NCHF was a great place to hang out on a beautiful spring day.

Smart goose.

When we first went inside, we had a real surprise. Ernest Borgnine was being interviewed in front of a gimongus statue of The End of the Trail. Mr. Borgnine is 94 years old and told stories like a young man.

He was there to serve as a presenter for the 50th Annual Western Heritage Awards. We didn’t get to hear much of the interview, but he sounded as if he could be so much fun!

Most of the displays inside the museum–paintings and authentic costumes–were off limits to photography. (Although I did see some people breaking the rules, I didn’t. No way I wanted to get the boot from that wonderful place.)

In one area, it was legal to take pictures. It was supposed to be an old west town.

 Saddle maker shop.

This is the blacksmith’s shop. Wouldn’t it be fantastic if they had people “living” in this old town? They could tell us about what went on, day to day. A true education in history.

This is the saloon. (Miss Kitty isn’t in.)

On the wall. (Marilyn, I took that shot for you. I know how much you love buffalo.)

The photographer.

The church.

I tried my hand at preaching. But no converts. 🙂 The “marshall” popped his head in after we left to see that we hadn’t left anything out of place.

We had to leave an hour earlier than normal because of the awards ceremony that night. On our way out, we saw several beautifully dressed people. I’m talking tuxedoes and seriously formal gowns. These people knew about black tie! 

Instead of hanging there for the formal dinner (ha!) can you guess where we went?

 If you guessed Brick Town, you’d be right. Talk about fun! Just a middle of April weekend, and the place was teeming with folks.

Isn’t this a great old building? I loved it and the paint at the top where it says, “Fox Vliet Wholesale Drug Company.” (Does that ring anyone’s chime?)

So we started home. There were still  some paintings along the way.

Cowboys.

Beautiful, OKLAHOMA! (My hat’s off to Rodgers and Hammerstein for writing our fantastic state song!)

And from a distance, our beautiful capitol.

What could be a better way to end a fabulous day?

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x7k7fi_oklahoma_music

In the gift shop, I saw a familiar face. The Pioneer Woman’s Cookbook was right up front!

Have you been to the Cowboy Hall of Fame lately? If it’s been a while, you’ll want to go back. It’s better than ever!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Middle of April

  1. Susan, I took my kids years ago, & I still remember my favorite bronze sculpture. It is of a young boy “talking” to a turtle. He is holding the turtle up close to his face, looking at him intently as if to say, “Where did you think you were going–out there in all that traffic? Here, I’ll help you safely across the road!”

    Definitely a fun place to go & spend several hours!

    • I don’t even remember that one, Sharon. Funny how different people notice different things, isn’t it?
      I loved the gun that one of the artists (Remington, I think, but I’m not sure) scratched four little pieces of art. He told the guy, “Now you’ll always have big game.”
      The man had art just flowing from his fingertips.
      Lucky fella!

  2. I’m gong to try this again! What happened to that wonderful collection of words I just typed? Somewhere out there in the abis of the internet!!!

    Sharon, is that the Willard Stone piece, ‘Something to Believe In”, it sounds like it.

    Susan, Paul and I are just back from a 17 day vacation that took us to Maryland and the granddarlings, we went to Virginia, West Virginia, Pennsylvania and Maryland in search of all things Civil War. We saw every battlefield, monument and graveyard in those four states. We were taken back to the grief and torment that the years during the Civil War brought to our broken and battered country. That said, the granddarlings are coming to Oklahoma in July and the Cowboy Hall of Fame in on our list of must do’s during their visit. They have the Civil War and we have the Cowboys and Indians, so we are going to show them how it is done in Oklahoma! Thank you for the pictures, I am going to tell Elizabeth to get on the Cowboy Hall of Fame web site and get them pumped about their visit! Oh, we didn’t give them all of our time, we went to Florida for six days to recover and tan! Never too early to get your tan started and that I did! But it is good to be home again, nothing like that first night in your own bed!!! That’s almost worth going away just to come home again! Hate to go on and on about the “latest” vacation but I feel it is my duty to proclaim the wonderful world of Retirement!!! I highly recomment it!!!! Always good to see your name on my news crawl!!! TTFN!

    • This comment is even better than the first. LOL! Did you get to see Tim and Becky while you were in Florida? I just know she’s in heaven in all that sun and heat.
      You make retirement sound like fun, fun, fun! Maybe someday we’ll give it a shot. I hope.
      Thanks for coming by! You’re a real Joy!

  3. Sharon, is that the Willard Stone piece “Something To Believe In”? It sounds like it. Susan, we are just back from a 17 day vacation which 11 of were spent with our granddarlings in Maryland. We revisited the Civil War, we were in Virginia, West Virginia, Pennsylvania and Maryland, we visited all of the battle fields, cemetaries and monuments that remind us of the grief our country suffered during those years. All of that said to say, they are coming to Oklahoma in July and The Cowboy Hall of Fame is on our list of day trips, they have the Civil War and we have the cowboys and indians! Since they showed us how they did it during the Civil War, we are going to show them how the cowboys and the indians did it in Oklahoma!

    • Oh, Joy! What a fantastic vacation. First to be with your granddarlings, and then to see all that history. I’d love to do that. Maybe, someday . . . !
      I’m glad you had such a great time, and are home safely! It makes me so happy to hear from you!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

