Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

From the Mouths of Babes

2 Comments

Jesus entering Jerusalem on a donkey

Image via Wikipedia

Sunday morning was Palm Sunday–the day when Jesus rode into Jerusalem on a donkey, cheered by crowds of people waving palm leaves and even throwing their cloaks in the road to soften his path.

Our church here in C-Town does a great job of celebrating Palm Sunday. Every year the children come into church, waving palm branches and cheering. I’m not positive all the little ones (if they’re big enough to walk, they get to participate) understand why they do the palm waving, but the adults understand.

Palm Sunday is the beginning of Holy Week.

I’m still going through the Bible. I’m in Matthew and reading about–you guessed it–Holy Week.

A very large crowd spread their cloaks on the road, while others cut branches from the trees and spread them on the road. The crowds that went ahead of him and those that followed shouted, “Hosanna to the Son of David!” 

“Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!” 

“Hosanna in the highest!”  Matt. 21: 8 & 9

I asked a four year old buddy of mine, “Why do we celebrate Easter?”

He didn’t miss a beat. “To get candy!”

Worded that question wrong. LOL. “So, what’s Easter about?”

“It’th when Jethuth died for our thinth.” My buddy has a slight lisp.

“And then what happened?” Gotta give the right cues.

“He roth from the dead.” He shrugged as if to say, everybody knows that.

Don’t you love it when kids answer as if they were there?

And talking about kids, another little friend of mine (this one’s seven) made her confession of faith Sunday and was baptized into Christ. She’s the cutest little thing with blond hair and big eyes and no bigger than a minute.

I’m not quoting this, because I didn’t write all the words down, but this is pretty much it: The Preach (aka: Little Bit’s dad)–Why did you come forward?

Little Bit: I want to give my heart to Jesus and be forgiven!

Beautiful, pure, unadulterated faith–only children come by it naturally.

“He said, ‘Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.'” Matt. 18:3

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “From the Mouths of Babes

  1. Susan, It so great went children give their hearts to God at such an early age. Love the answers the kids gave to you. And a little child shall lead them…so true. Thanks for sharing this special message with us.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

