Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

If It’s the 15th, It Must Be SSMT

4 Comments

Actually, it’s the 16th, but who’s counting? LOL.

Did you notice there’s a new verse at the top? I changed the he’s to she’s in it, just to make it a tiny bit more personal. (I’m praying God won’t mind.)

Ever wonder why someone would bother to memorize the Holy Scripts when there’s several Bibles in most households and even if you forget to pack yours, there’s usually one in every hotel, motel and hospital room? (Yes, I have one on my Kindle if you were wondering.)

Here’s why–when I need it, I rarely have my Bible at hand. I’m usually out somewhere, or at work where my Bible doesn’t have a concordance and I can’t get where I’m going because I don’t use it as often as the one at home. But if I’ve saved the verse in my mind, if I know it by heart, I can remember it and use it.

I have hidden Your word in my heart that I might not sin against You. Psalm 119:11 NIV.

If you haven’t read that passage lately, look it up. There’s some real truths there we need to know. It tells how to live a life of righteousness, even in a world such as exists today.

As far as I know, Psalm 119 is the longest psalm in the Bible. And because of its length, it’s always been a little daunting for me. But taken little by little, it’s full of such beauty and truth.

17-Do good to your servant, and I will live; I will obey your word.

24-Your statutes are my delight; they are my counselors.

41-May your unfailing love come to me, O Lord, your salvation according to your promise

64-The earth is filled with your love, O Lord; teach me your decrees.

72-The law from your mouth is more precious to me than thousands of pieces of silver and gold. 

89-Your word, O Lord, is eternal; it stands firm in the heavens.

114-You are my refuge and my shield; I have put my hope in your word.

 So that’s why I’m memorizing scriptures. Not that I’m really good at it. I can remember it as long as I’m working on it, but I’m not sure I can remember it a week or two later.

One I do remember is Numbers 6:24-26–The Lord bless you and keep you, the Lord make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you; The Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.

That’s my prayer for you this morning, my friend. The Lord bless and keep you and cause His face to shine on you. And give you peace.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “If It’s the 15th, It Must Be SSMT

  1. Wouldn’t it be super if everyone we meet today had the peace of God. What a world we’d have then.

  2. Yes, it would. I doubt if that’ll happen, but it would be super. 😉

  3. Pingback: Why SSMT? « Small Town World

  4. Pingback: Christian Church in Old Ford « Small Town World

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

