Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

A Friend’s Weird God Thing

4 Comments

This is from a friend of mine. I wanted her to share and she was a little uncomfortable using her name. So I suggested she do it anonymously. When you read it, see if it doesn’t make you think of a story from the Bible.
My Friend’s Weird God Thing
Have you ever known you needed to tell someone something, but didn’t know how they would take it? Had this happen, & the person asked me the question, I can’t lie, cause His word says not to & liars will be cast into a lake of fire.
So, sitting there wondering, do I tell them or what? Or is that a sin of not telling them, when you know they want/need to know. This person had been ill, & was unsure of how they would take it.
While contemplating, not sure if that’s the word, because I was on the spot here, & had been pondering for several months. Hopefully, you can get the scene, all comfy in my recliner, then the question. WOW!
 
Then I hear my name, sounded like my daddy’s voice, have heard this before, but, not quite like this, & it was audible, with a sense of urgency. Sometimes, my husband sounds like daddy when he hollers at me, so I said, did he just holler at me? The person says yes!
 
I thought well I better go see what he wants, I heard it again. A little put out, since I’m all comfy, our dog sitting up with me in the recliner. Get up & go to the other end of the house, where husband is showering, (thinking, that’s strange.)
I asked did you holler at me? He says no, I go back, thinking I KNOW I heard my name not once but twice.
I took it from that, I knew what I had to do, I did, & it turned out great!
 
God is so good!!
Anonymous
Isn’t that beautiful? (I’m a little jealous. Good jealous, but jealous all the same.) Tell me, am I the only one or does it remind someone else of a story from the Old Testament?
Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “A Friend’s Weird God Thing

  1. My mom has told me stories about her God experiences like this that would amaze anyone. She has several experiences of God speaking to her and showing her signs. I need to record them. She’s even had a couple of angels unaware visits. God has watched over her through out her life. She learned to trust Him ’cause she had to many times.

    • Wow, again.
      I don’t know about anyone else, but hearing about events like this is so encouraging for me. I love knowing how God takes a hand in lives of those around me. I think the first secret is paying attention, and your mother certainly does!
      I’m so glad I know you, Terri! And through you, your mom.
      I hope you’ll share a few of her God Experiences (WGTs) with us. You can send them to me in a message on Facebook if you want, then I’ll post them.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

