Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The Day Before Today

18 Comments

Not to be confused with “The Day After Tomorrow.” LOL.

I’m talking about my big birthday. Yesterday. I turned 153. Well, not quite, but I’m working toward it.

Yeah, somebody out there (or everybody) can figure out which birthday it was, but what different does it make? You’re only as old as you feel/act/think.

To be honest, as long as I’m still learning/kicking/loving, I really don’t mind. 

I had a fantastic day yesterday. The office crew went to lunch to celebrate, which always makes me feel so special. (We do it for everybody but I love it when it’s my turn.) To make it extra special, Amy made this for me.

What used to be the focus of the day (gifts) isn’t really that important anymore. Now it’s the heart-touches that matters. My three sons each called to share their love and part of their day with me, as did my beautiful DIL and DILs2b. Love and laughter–talk about a great day sparkler! (Love you guys!)

My busy, busy going-to-Physician-Assistant-school-married-to-a-minister-and-fostering-two-children niece called last night. That, “Love you, Aunt Su-Su” thrills my heart.   

A gift from Omega addressed to Alpha (G-Man laughed and said we’d gone Greek) to help me with my daily (or so) walk was wonderful, and the card she made for Pops to give me was so special. It talks about how blessed he is because God blessed him with me as a daughter. Isn’t that a nice thing for a sister to do? (And a great thing for a dad to sign his name to!)

The card all the guys at the office signed had a picture of a cake on fire. LOL. One cousin signed it, “HOW OLD???” (Answer, “Two years YOUNGER than you.” LOL) My brother signed it, “Happy 29th” . . . which, incidentally, would make him 19. 🙂

A pedometer from my wonderful walking buddy/spiritual sister. (And I’m going to figure out how to use it one of these  soon. Very soon.

And a surprise from #4. She sent me a white pitcher (I collect them.) The pitcher is beautiful and looks like an antique. But what I really like, the part that brought me to tears (and not just a few) was the letter she included and the scriptures she put inside the pitcher.

In the letter (which now lives in my Bible) she says the scriptures are either something we learned together or they were words “God whispered my ear that they were special.”

Here’s just a few.

“A cheerful heart is good medicine.” Proverbs 17:22

“May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul, and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.” 1 Thess 5:23

And this one nearly had me sobbing. (I had to go outside to keep from scaring G-Man.) “I thank my God every time I remember you. In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Jesus Christ.” Philippians 1:3-6.

Is there a better gift than a Christian sister, partner and friend who prays for you each time she thinks of you? If there is, I don’t know of it.

Unless it’s four Christian sisters. And a Christian Brother.

Love you guys.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

18 thoughts on “The Day Before Today

  1. BTW- LOVE the pic!

  2. Always enjoy reading your blog & about your birthday! Love that scripture & smiled when I saw we share liking pitchers. But, have tried to restrain myself, so my sisters, daughter & husband won’t call the hoarders show. It seems I like too much stuff, ha!
    And, no, I don’t know how old you are 🙂 I should, but, it doesn’t matter, when we’re going to live forever! 🙂

  3. Susan, So glad your birthday was special ~ just like you! I know how old you are & I love you anyway! lol
    I am so thankful to have been given a few extra 29 years to my life. And, I hope you have another couple of 29 or so to enjoy lots of wonderful “future” grandchildren. You have such great stories to tell them! 🙂

    • From your mouth to God’s ear, Sharon. I do have a lot to share with future grandchildren. I spent the day today with Deb and her granddaughter. We had so much fun! I can’t wait to do it again and with one of my own.
      One of these days!
      Thank you, thank you!

  4. happy belated birthday, glad you had a good day! 🙂

  5. Glad to hear you had a special day. And I know the real age….but I’m not talking! I agree, it is a matter of the mind, not the years! I wish we all got to see #4 more!! LL

    • Hey Lori! It’s so nice to see you here. (I’m at your blog all the time!)
      Thank you for not talking. At least I can be a woman of mystery in that way if no other. Ü
      I wish we could see #4 more often, too, but like she reminds me, the road goes both ways. Guess we’ll have to head that way since there’s more of us. We can make it a group road trip. 😉 (Or take a bus.)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

