Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

A Funny Thing

2 Comments

Sometimes my preacher talks about Weird God Things that happen in the lives of people he knows. He preached about a WGT his brother experienced once, concerning tithing. (I think.)

When I was getting ready for hip replacement surgery, I just about worried myself sick over it. I didn’t want to die in surgery. My kids needed me. G-Man needed me. I needed to experience grandchildren, yada yada. So, naturally, I started praying about it. (What else is there to do?)

Early one morning just days before the surgery, I woke myself up, and started praying. I fell asleep again had a dream.

I was a glass orb. (You know, like a delicate Christmas ornament.) God picked me up and put me in a leather briefcase like my dad used to have. He showed me all around, so I knew that I was the only one in there. Nobody else was hiding in any of the pockets, nooks or crannies. (I’m not sure why, except I’m one of six kids. I was rarely the only one anywhere.)

Then God made me understand that He was the heavy leather case and I was the breakable glass ball. And nothing could happen to me that God didn’t specifically allow.

Wait, let me amend that. Nothing CAN happen to me that God doesn’t specifically allow. N-O-T-H-I-N-G.

God answered me and I held tight to that promise.

And just in case His will was to take me to Heaven during that surgery, I wanted David (my preacher) to know so he could share it at my funeral–especially for my boys. (For once in my life, I wanted to be prepared.)

After hearing about the dream, David pronounced it a Weird God Thing.

After the dream, I stopped fretting about the surgery. I didn’t stop praying, but I was comforted. 

Fast forward to yesterday. I told you about my memory verse. “Be still and know that I am God.” We even talked just a little about “Be still” and how Grandma used to tell us that when things got too noisy around her house.

It was never easy to be still, no matter how many times Grandma told us. There were so many sights and sounds to investigate.

So this morning, I woke up at 3:45, and guess what. I was deaf. Couldn’t hear a thing out of one ear and just barely out of the other. Yep, allergies have hit me hard. I just don’t remember ever before losing my hearing.

I have lost my voice before. (Like, totally, dude!) But that didn’t keep my from trying to talk. I couldn’t be still. I still went to work. Still cooked and cleaned and took care of kids. (It’s been a while since that happened.) 

But this morning when I couldn’t hear, I finally understood exactly what that verse means. Be still. Shut out the world. Don’t use your usual crutches (radio, TV, FB, whatever) to give you that, “I’m not really alone” feeling.

Be alone, all by yourself. Stopping up my ears worked for me. For once, I was able to be still because the world couldn’t break in. Only God was there with me. 

It lasted through breakfast, while I dressed and did my hair, and (sadly) all the way through church. I could barely hear music message God gave us through Dorothea. I’d really been looking forward to hearing it after visiting her place of business (to get my skunk stripe colored) last Thursday. 

She’d told me that day how much this song meant to her. How she related to the woman who washed Jesus’s feet with her tears and dried them with her hair. Dorothea sings from her heart, doesn’t ask for praise, although she deserves it.

Below is Cece Winan one of G-Man’s favorite singers, singing the song Dorothea blessed us with this morning.  

I didn’t hear much of her song but still, I’m thankful for the stillness. And for Weird God Things.

Has God ever given you a WGT? Want to share?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “A Funny Thing

  1. Yes, several. I call them God encounters!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

