Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Know Pride

6 Comments

Due volte 3

This is from Greer Ferguson’s blog. Greer took it from the book, “Praying God’s Word.” I haven’t been to her blog before, but I will go back, even though I couldn’t comment.

Pride.

Remember. This is the enemy trying to keep you away from all the Lord wants you to be. All the plans HE has for you. DONT LET HIM!
You have the power to SAY NO. for you have a spirit of power….

My name Is Pride. I am a cheater.
I cheat you of your God-given destiny … because
you demand your own way.
I cheat you of contentment … because you
“deserve better than this.”
I cheat you of knowledge … because you already
know it all.
I cheat you of healing … because you’re too full of
me to forgive.
I cheat you of holiness … because you refuse to
admit when you’re wrong.
I cheat you of vision … because you’d rather look
in the mirror than out a window.
I cheat you of genuine friendship … because
nobody’s going to know the real you.
I cheat you out of love … because real romance
demands sacrifice.
I cheat you of greatness in heaven … because you
refuse to wash another’s feet on earth.
I cheat you of God’s glory … because I convince
you to seek your own.

My name is Pride. I am a cheater
You like me because you think I’m always looking
out for you. Untrue.
I’m looking to make a fool of you.
God has so much for you, I admit, but don’t worry …
If you stick with me
You’ll never know.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Know Pride

  1. I printed a copy of this to keep in my Bible. I need the reminder that its God and not me thats in charge!
    LY

  2. Thanks for the reminder…I am printing this out to put on the wall next to my computer…this way I will see it in front of me all the time…

  3. I think thats a great idea to do that study next. However, I still need to finish the Believing God one.
    I bought the Praying God’s Word cards that have Bible verses on them a long time ago.Guess I will pull them out again.
    LY

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

