Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Grandmommy Corn

8 Comments

Corn female flower AKA corn silk. The incipien...

Image via Wikipedia

My mom was a great cook. All the women and most of the men in my family are, but Mom was an extra special cook.

She grew up during the depression. At that time everyone–dads, moms, grandparents and kids helped make ends meet, especially if you came from a farm family.

The reason she could cook so well was because she didn’t want to chop cotton in the field, so she’d volunteer to cook. If she hadn’t done a great job, they wouldn’t have let her keep cooking. (And I wouldn’t blame them.)

Mama’s corn would make your tongue lap your brains out. (Saying courtesy of Grandad Ray.)

Grandmommie Corn–

I usually start with eight or ten ears of corn. Shuck them and cut off the kernals, but not too close to the cob. When you have all the corn off, go back and scrape the cob with the edge of your knife to get the “milk” out. (Mama said that’s what thickens the corn.) 

Melt a couple of tablespoons of bacon drippings in a heavy skillet. (Enough to cover the bottom.) When it’s hot, add the corn and saute for a few minutes. Yellow corn will turn bright yellow. How long you saute it depends on how much corn you have and how big your pan is.

After several minutes, add a tablespoon or two of sugar (depending on how sweet the corn is) salt and pepper to taste. (Don’t you hate it when someone says that?) Stir.

Then add enough half-and-half (heavy cream or milk–I use 2% milk because that’s what I usually have on hand) to make it look like creamed corn. Heat to a  simmer, but don’t let the cream come to a rolling boil. (It’ll curdle.)

Taste to make sure it’s good and serve.

While everyone is telling you how brilliant you are to be able to cook like that, say a little prayer of thank for my mama. She was the best!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “Grandmommy Corn

  1. Corn comes on a cob? Really? spw

    • You always make me laugh out loud, Sandee. You’re so funny.
      Yes, it growns on a cob. The cob on a stalk. Right out of the dirt. Amazing what God can do, isn’t it?

  2. Mom always told me to cook the corn in the bacon grease until I could smell the corn. Then I would know that it was ready for the next step!
    I love this corn, and now you’ve made me crave it, and its NOT low-fat!!!!!!!!
    LY

  3. Favorite favorite. I have always loved Grandmommy corn. I can still remember her making it and then my daddy after that. Thanks for the reminder and recipe. You’re making me hungry! All these posts sure make me miss her.

  4. You first told me about this way back when we went to Conrad’s in Bixby and you bought an entire bushel of corn, I think. I was hungry for it then, and I really am now. Can’t wait till the fresh corn is available!

  5. Pingback: Bill Taylor in Old Ford « Small Town World

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

