Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

National Day of Prayer

4 Comments

National Day of Prayer sign in Washington DC

Image by On Being via Flickr

Have you read this? I saw it on Facebook.

President Obama has decided that there will no longer be a “National Day of Prayer” held in May. He doesn’t want to offend anybody. Where was his concern about offending Christians last January when he allowed the Muslims to hold a day of prayer on the capitol grounds. As a Christian American “I Am Offended.” If you agree, copy and paste no matter what religion you are, this country was built on Freedom
(Thanks for sharing, Larry!)

My flash response–“Do what?!?”

Okay, it’s not true. G-Man knew immediately and started telling me while I read it to him. It took me a moment or two longer.

It’s a hoax/rumor/whatever that’s been going around since 2009. I don’t know its purpose. As you’d expect, several people commented when it was posted on FB. I have a feeling that, like me, many were ready to fight for the right to have a National Day of Prayer.

For those first few seconds, I felt like someone had burned me. No one can stop us from having our NDP. So what if someone in the government blah, blah, blah. I looked it up about that time and found it was just a cheat. We will have our NDP.  We haven’t been stopped, blocked or otherwise messed with.

Then I started thinking. (That’s not necessarily a good thing.)

I was riled in those moments when I thought we’d lost it. But now that I know we do have it . . . what? Back to the old, “Ho-hum it’s NPD”? Or am I going to realize what a blessing and previlege it is?    

I didn’t even know when NPD started. Answer–1952. (John Adams and Abe Lincoln each called for a day when the nation was in prayer.)

So . . . how did you observe that day last year? Did you spend it on your knees? Did you attend a special observance? Did you even slow your life a little to talk to God?

I’ll be very honest here–I didn’t. I remember that day last year. I think the churches in C-Town might have had a special prayer service during the lunch hour. I didn’t go.

I remember praying for our leaders and our government, but I didn’t stop what I was doing to talk to Him. (I pray on the go a lot.) I didn’t take the day off from work to pray, and no, I didn’t fast.

When I read that rumor, I was ready to let people know I wanted the right to a NDP. I wanted to tell someone how important it is. I was even ready to help start a grassroots effort. “We don’t need the government. We can do it ourselves!”

But now that I know I will have my NDP and have had it since 1952 (and have pretty much ignored it) what am I going to do?

What about you? Do you remember the first Thursday in May last year? How did you observe NDP? What are your plans for May 5, 2011?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “National Day of Prayer

  1. The first thing I do when I see stuff like this is hit snopes.com. Enough crap gets passed around without fact checking these days, and that’s what makes me mad. You have no idea how many times I re: my mother-in-law with snopes.com links, you’d think by now she would fact-check for herself.

    There should be a “net etiquette 101” class that (among MANY other things) teaches about “fact-checking before you spam your contact list with B.S.”

    • That’s what your mother did, Little Danny. Are you proud of me?

      Some of us are still learning. And some of us expect other people to tell the truth. We do, why shouldn’t they?
      Love you, Baby.
      Ps: Some people should read a whole blog before they think their mama didn’t check it out.

  2. okay…I admit I didn’t know there was one. *bad me* So thank you for telling me about it. I will mark it and will do something about it. I’m a baby Christian and I keep learning. Thanks for helping me grow a tiny bit more. 😀

  3. Ashley,
    We don’t hear much about it until we think someone’s going to take it from us. Maybe that’s the reason someone started that rumor. To see if anyone cares.

    For a “baby” Christian, I’ve seen some mighty big faith in you. And it thrills me to think I might have helped even a little.
    Thanks for coming by and commenting!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

