Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Fling into Spring

Leave a comment

The celestial sphere, celestial equator, celes...

Image via Wikipedia

Know what happened this weekend? Spring hit!

Here’s what alamanac.com has to say about Spring:

At the start of spring—the vernal equinox—day and night are each approximately 12 hours long (with the actual time of equal day and night, in the Northern Hemisphere, occurring a few days before the vernal equinox). The Sun crosses the celestial equator going northward; it rises exactly due east and sets exactly due west.

Just like the birds fly north in spring, some things happen to me every year. Other than the calendar, here’s how I can tell it’s spring:

  • I clean up my garden. (Finally!)
  • I start my annual spring diet. (Not to be confused with my annual summer, fall and/or winter diets.) 
  • I’m excited (and completely amazed) when my perennials start growing.  
  • I buy every gardening magazine I can get my hands on and read the words right off the page.
  • I dream big dreams about what I want my gardens to look like.
  • My energy never matches the size of my imagination.

To be honest, I’m a little intimidated when it’s time to start yardwork. There’s always so much to do, I look at it all and think, “Where do I start?”

After trimming back all the stuff I should have whacked last fall, I can at least breathe a little easier. And after that I take one little piece at a time and when I get that one started, I move on to the next.

And it usually works.

Columbine. Grows under a tree and is completely beautiful!

I love blue flowers. They’re hard to find, but oh, so beautiful!

So, anything happen in your life when spring lands on you?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

