Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

In Remembrance

5 Comments

Astronaut Buzz Aldrin photographed by Neil Arm...

Image via Wikipedia

You are on the moon. A thousand new things to see and touch and experience. A thousand things to worry about. Everything, in fact, because no on has ever before walked where you are. 

Emotions of every kind slam into you–Cautious fear of a mistake, excitement and awe of what you’re seeing and doing. Amazement zinging through you because you’re standing in a place where only a handful of people will ever go.

You are blessed.

What would you do? Would your mind only be on the business at hand or would childhood stories of green cheese flicker back to wring a grin from you? Would romantic old moon songs float in your head? 

Would you have the presence of mind to praise God for his creations? That he’s given enough people enough knowledge to create the vehicle to get you there? And (hopefully) take you home.

(This is an article by Eric Metaxas)(I ripped it off borrowed it from Sharon Frazier’s Facebook Notes.)

Communion on the Moon: July 20th, 1969  

Forty years ago two human beings changed history by walking on the surface of the moon. But what happened before Buzz Aldrin and Neil Armstrong exited the Lunar Module is perhaps even more amazing, if only because so few people know about it.

“I’m talking about the fact that Buzz Aldrin took communion on the surface of the moon. Some months after his return, he wrote about it in Guideposts magazine. And a few years ago I had the privilege of meeting him myself. I asked him about it & he confirmed the story to me, & I wrote about in my book Everything You Always Wanted to Know About God (But Were Afraid to Ask).

The background to the story is that Aldrin was an elder at his Presbyterian Church in Texas during this period in his life, and knowing that he would soon be doing something unprecedented in human history, he felt he should mark the occasion somehow, and he asked his minister to help him.

And so the minister consecrated a communion wafer and a small vial of communion wine. And Buzz Aldrin took them with him out of the Earth’s orbit and on to the surface of the moon. He and Armstrong had only been on the lunar surface for a few minutes when Aldrin made the following public statement: “This is the LM pilot. I’d like to take this opportunity to ask every person listening in, whoever and wherever they may be, to pause for a moment and contemplate the events of the past few hours and to give thanks in his or her own way.” He then ended radio communication and there, on the silent surface of the moon, 250,000 miles from home, he read a verse from the Gospel of John, and he took communion.

Here is his own account of what happened: “In the radio blackout, I opened the little plastic packages which contained the bread and the wine. I poured the wine into the chalice our church had given me. In the one-sixth gravity of the moon, the wine slowly curled and gracefully came up the side of the cup.
Then I read the scripture, ‘I am the vine, you are the branches. Whosoever abides in me will bring forth much fruit.. Apart from me you can do nothing.

I had intended to read my communion passage back to earth, but at the last minute [they] had requested that I not do this. NASA was already embroiled in a legal battle with Madelyn Murray O’Hare, the celebrated opponent of religion, over the Apollo 8 crew reading from Genesis while orbiting the moon at Christmas. I agreed reluctantly. I ate the tiny Host & swallowed the wine. I gave thanks for the intelligence & spirit that had brought two young pilots to the Sea of Tranquility . It was interesting for me to think: the very first liquid ever poured on the moon, & the very first food eaten there, were the communion elements. And of course, it’s interesting to think that some of the first words spoken on the moon were the words of Jesus Christ, who made the Earth & the moon – and Who, in the immortal words of Dante, is Himself the “Love that moves the Sun and other stars.”

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

5 thoughts on “In Remembrance

  1. Susan I had the opportunity about 4 weeks ago to visit the Space Center again after many years. When you look first hand at the ingenuity, technology, and the human spirit involved at that juncture in our history, it gave me shivers down my back and does so now as I type this. It is such a leap of faith that everything necessary to make that flight would and did come together for a successful mission that there had to be a guiding hand and I think Buzz Aldrin had it on his shoulder.

    • So true, Steve. Great way to see it!
      We took the kids to the Space Center in Houston a few years ago. What an amazing place.
      Looking at that, you have to know God was guiding them.
      Too bad Madeline carried so much weight, wasn’t it?

  2. Susan, I love the approach you take to share articles with us with your perspective on what might be going through other’s minds at a particular time. Also, it is always a compliment when you are able to share a story I have posted. Thankfully, I am fortunate enough to get wonderful emails. Thanks again for another view on this amazing time of our history. Thank God for his amazing love and protection over our wonderful country!

  3. Oh that’s good, Susan. I did not know that at all. Thanks for sharing. That was beautiful. One small step for man but one great God guiding his steps.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

