Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

♣♣♣Happy St. Patrick’s Day♣♣♣

5 Comments

I’ve always been just a little envious of G-Man and the boys. Because they were born Shays, we knew they were Irish. And how cool is that?

♣♣♣

May you always have walls for the winds,
a roof for the rain, tea beside the fire,
laughter to cheer you, those you love near you,
and all your heart might desire.

  ♣♣♣

But in the last year or two, I learned Great Grandma Mitchell’s mother (or grandmother. I forget) was Irish.

Please don’t tell me that McCrackin is a Scottish name. I can’t help it if it should have been O’Crackin. It isn’t. It’s McCrackin and Ireland. Maybe the family got lost and settled on the wrong side of a line. (Which could also mean I come by being directionally challenged naturally.) 

According to Wikipedia (don’t you love Wiki?)

Saint Patrick’s Day (Irish: Lá Fhéile Pádraig) is a religious holiday celebrated internationally on 17 March. It is named after Saint Patrick (c. AD 387–461), the most commonly recognised of the patron saints of Ireland. It is observed by the Roman Catholic Church, the Anglican Communion (especially the Church of Ireland),[1] the Eastern Orthodox Church and Lutherans. Saint Patrick’s Day was made an official feast day in the early 17th century, and has gradually become a celebration of Irish culture in general.[2]

Being Irish {evil grin} here’s what I know–

  • The Chicago River is dyed green today. (Oklahoma has that beat. Our lagoons are already green!)
  • People drink green beer today. (Since beer tastes like skunk juice, it should be ick-colored all the time.)
  • Kids (and brave adults) wearing green pinch anyone who isn’t wearing the prescribed color today. (Has to be showing!)
  • If you catch a leprechaun, you get his pot of gold–or is it three wishes?  

The following is from http://kaboose.com

  • St. Patrick was born in 385 AD somewhere along the west coast of Britain, possibly in the Welsh town of Banwen. At age 16, he was captured and sold into slavery to a sheep farmer. He escaped when he was 22 and spent the next 12 years in a monastery. In his 30s he returned to Ireland as a Christian missionary. He died at Saul in 461 AD and is buried at Downpatrick.
  • Legend says that each leaf of the clover means something: the first is for hope, the second for faith, the third for love and the fourth for luck.
  •  

    ♣♣♣

    Knock! Knock! Who’s there?
    Irish.
    Irish who?
    Irish you a happy St. Patrick’s Day

    ♣♣♣

    How will you celebrate SPD? Bake a green cake for dinner? Dye your hair green? Have a green milk shake?

     

     

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

5 thoughts on “♣♣♣Happy St. Patrick’s Day♣♣♣

  1. You are absolutely correct. I always thought McCrackin would be Scottish but turns out its Irish in our case at least. Also, my fraternal side of the family (grandparents) have one of the 50 most popular Irish names. Found that out a few years ago…Happy St. Patrick’s Day

    • Yaaaay! I’m right!!! (It has to happen sometimes. Law of averages. Right? )
      How far back have you traced the family tree, Steve? I think I want a copy of yours.

  2. Reblogged this on Small Town World and commented:

    I like this St. Paddy’s Day post!

  3. Thanks for the interesting St. Patrick’s day posting, enjoyed reading it. It’s Sheila’s birthday in our family. Never thought about our cousin McCrackins being Irish. I’ve always wondered about the 2 names being so much alike..McCrackin and then the McCrackens! There’s both around here.

    • It’s a busy day, isn’t it? From what I understand, McCrackins and McCrackens were the same family at one time. Somebody just didn’t know how to spell somewhere along the line. 🙂 (I come by it naturally.)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

