Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Molly to the Rescue

2 Comments

4:00 a.m. The Shay abode was attacked by a wild herd of maurading monsters. I know this because Molly, our guard dog (aka Yorkie)

exploded in a fit, barking her shrill, I’m-risking-my-life-to-save-the-world yap and rushing from the front door to the back door in a dead run. (Her tiny tootsies beat our wood floor like a drum when she’s excited.)

4:03 a.m.–Molly scaled the stairs in record time (she practices everytime anyone goes upstairs and usually does a victory spin at the top when she beats us) and flew into our bedroom, where she spun and barked and spun and barked.

I fell out of bed, put something on and stumbled down the stairs to the back door where the mean hound was whirling like a dervish.

I let her out and she ran around the side of the house, where I have no doubt she leaped over the fence to do battle out front.

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

Ten minutes later she came back in the house, but didn’t settle down at all. She patrolled downstairs, then went up to make sure things were all right before coming down to start another circuit.

When I go to work, I fully expect to find a pile of wild monster bodies, lying in the front yard.

I’ll send pictures.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Molly to the Rescue

  1. I bet you won’t be troubled by marauding monsters again for a while, at least until they forget their encounter with Molly. MMs tend to rather dim-witted, so they WILL forget.

    Good girl, Molly!

    • That’s what you’d think, isn’t it? But sadly, they came back the next night at the same time!!! G-Man had to get up with her, so the next night we banned her to the fam room.
      Apparently the MMs learned their lesson. For a while.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

