Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Reading Through, 2

Leave a comment

Ichthys and Psalm23

Image via Wikipedia

I think I mentioned a time or two (or three?) that I’m reading through the Bible in a year with my church. Here it is, February and I’m still at it! Yay!

Just between you and me, I’m having a ball. We’re using a reading plan from The Navigators and I’m loving it. We read a book from the Old Testament and then one from the New and a little out of either Psalms or Proverbs.

 I’ve almost made it through Leviticus. I think that’s the Book Beth Moore loving calls the “grave yard” for people trying to read through the Bible. 

I’m not a Bible scholar, but it’s so exciting to revisit words and phrases I’ve heard all my life. This morning it was, “An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.” (Oh, and anyone who curses the Lord’s name was stoned to death!)

The other day I read in Proverbs that anyone who spares the rod hates his child. (Instead of “spare the rod, spoil the child” like I’d always heard, it’s “spare the rod, hate your child.”)

I just Googled “Read through the Bible” and there are 59 pages with ten or so places to go to read through. Actually, it was “Page 59 of about 4,950,000”. Lots of places to go to find the reading map for you.

You can read through the Bible in a year or ninety days or chronologically, just about any way you want. And the year doesn’t have to start on January 1. It can start today.

The important thing is to read it. How can we not spend time getting to know it?

It’s God’s love letter to me. God’s love letter to you.

Directly from God’s heart, telling us how much He adores us on every page.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

