Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

If It’s the 15th . . .

8 Comments

Bless the Lord

Image via Wikipedia

It must be time for SSMT!

Here’s the new verses–Numbers 6:24-26

“The Lord bless you and keep you, the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you. The Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.”

It says it right there in black and white– God wants to shine on us, bless us and give us peace. But when we’re stressed or worried, how often do we remember and hold that promise tight?

When life hits us in the face, do we remember to run to Him or do we try to handle it ourselves and do a little (or in my case, a lot of) whining when it doesn’t work out? (And then ask Him to fix what I’ve messed up.)

I’m going to try to engrave these words on my heart. If I do, maybe my first response will be to run to Him rather than the other way around.

I know He’ll take care of me and give me what I need when I need it. Not before; when. And I trust Him. Really, I do. 

Sometimes, though, I’m like the little boy who was afraid when he went to bed.

“Daddy, I’m scared of the dark.”

“There’s nothing to be afraid of, son. God is with you.”

“I know, Daddy, but I want someone with skin on.”

Maybe that’s what our siblings in Christ are for, to be that Someone with skin on, if we’ll humble ourselves enough to ask for help. And prayers. And help.

Do you ever have trouble waiting on Him? Trusting Him?  Remembering He wants to be gracious to you even in the heat of the moment?

Am I the only one?  

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “If It’s the 15th . . .

  1. Susan, I am so terrible about memorizing or reading anything anymore, but I decided to write this verse down on a Post-It note. Now it is on my computer as I seem to need CONSTANT reminders! As always, thanks for sharing your thoughts & inspiration with us.

    • It’s one of those verses that’s very familiar and very comforting. Glad you’re enjoying it, too!

      You can make it a scrolling screen saver, too, if you want. That’s always fun. 😉

  2. I think Selah sings it, it’s easier if you hear it in a song for me. One of my favs. Thanks,

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

