Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Choosing Joy

6 Comments

The iOS home screen.

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday I showed you pictures of the snow out my backdoor. I tried to get shots of the ice coating the trees, but poor little iPhone couldn’t do it.

Complaints could have been voiced about the tons of snow, low temps and being caught inside. We could have had crabbing about all the trouble, mess and missing work, etc. but who wants to hear that? No fun!

Why not choose joy whenever possible? (My mama did that so much of the time!) And I’m not the only blogger who looks for beauty in situations. Marilyn Pappano posted her beautiful pics of flowers on her blog today. (Friday.)

Larry Lawrence, a friend on FB, chose joy by sharing snowy pic of an eagle basking in the sun and a banana plant, freezing his nanners off. He took us on a great tour of the Ford!

I also noticed Beth Moore posted a blog on Monday  (I didn’t read it until today, but it’s another good one. Of course!) where she gave her readers a challenge–to not complain about anything all day long. 

First she talks about being cranky because of missed sleep. Then she says–

“I made up my mind to choose joy in the power of Jesus’ Name. While turning those pedals on my exercise bike, I told the Lord out loud that I wanted to make it all day long without voicing one single complaint. I could not believe how quickly my mood improved and I feel as happy as one who’s had 10 solid hours of sleep.Now, let me quickly say this. I’m not a fan of living in denial. Some complaints are legitimate and NEED VOICING! I already had one of those this morning on a good friend’s behalf who is in rough situation. So, what do you do then? Voice it to God! Lord have mercy, don’t think I’m posing as some huge example here this morning. I’m just asking you if you want to join me in being very deliberate about our mouths and our attitudes today. If you have a valid complaint, take it to God and, if possible, say it to Him out loud. It increases the sense that you really did get it off your chest. Sometimes a silent prayer doesn’t carry the same power as one spoken with passion and holy intent. Make some declarations today so even your enemy knows you mean business.”

Choosing not to complain to other people about the less than perfect parts of life is not lying. Taking trouble only to the Lord isn’t denial.

There’s no rule that says anyone has to share her troubles with anyone but God. (Although having a sister you trust is a real blessing!:)  ) 

God alone can repair hurts–past, present and future. He will bear our burdens and save our backs a lot of pain! 

Here’s how Beth finished her post (I just saw this)

Think up, Siestas! Let’s choose joy!      

I can only answer, “Amen, Siesta Beth! So be it!!!”

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Choosing Joy

  1. Interesting that you posted this now, because I’ve been thinking and talking with Bob lately about trying to be less negative. There are a lot of things that happen that I CAN’T change, so it seems a lot more beneficial to learn to deal with/ignore them than to whine or complain about them.

    Remember how many times we’ve said, “I like so-and-so BUT. . .” ? No more. I’m going to accept people as they are. I can dislike things about them, but I also almost always ignore those things unless they become a hindrance to the friendship. I’m not going to stay friends with someone who’s driving me crazy or dragging me down or is otherwise not healthy for me, but I’m going to cut them — and me — some slack by ignoring stuff.

    Besides, I know when my negative attitudes are getting on MY nerves, it’s time to dial waaaay back.

    • You may be a few (ahem) years younger than me, but I’ve learned so much from you. You are a wise woman. Something, I suspect, you inherited from your mother.
      No more “buts . . . ” Much more cutting slack.
      Life is so much more wonderful when we look for and find the beauty.
      I’m so with you on this one. Amazing what can be learned, even at my age. 😉
      I’m so very glad you stopped by!

  2. Now that brought a tear to this old eye.♡ ♡ ♡ ♡

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

