Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The Rest of the Story

4 Comments

I told you about our Nose Diving Diva here.

I didn’t get a picture of Amy yesterday, but she was looking much better. She went to The Big City with her husband, so I didn’t get to see her until we were eating our lunch Sonic Burgers.

When she got to the office, she could hardly wait to tell us the rest of the story.”You know, all things happen for a reason–”

–“No,” her husband interrupted her. “All things work together for good–”

–“For those who love the Lord and are called according to his purpose,” the rest of us finished with them. (Kind of like a speaking choir.)

Before we could get into a discussion about the way different versions of that verse are worded (the Spess Fam is great to grab a subject and run with it. We rarely have quiet moments when we’re together) Amy said, “ANYWAY . . . back two or three years ago, #1 daughter was putting one of Mama’s earrings on me and dropped it. We hunted and hunted everywhere, all over the chair, under the batteries, every place, all around the chair, but we never did find it.

“This morning when Noel was putting on my shoes for me, we found it lying on the footplate, next to my foot.”

I couldn’t help but marvel. She wasn’t worried about the scrapes on her face or her messed up glasses. She wasn’t humiliated over the incident. She’d already accepted all that with beautiful grace.

She was thrilled over the miracle of finding Mama’s earring lying next to her pinkies, and she was giving God ALL the glory.  (We’re always up for a Thank You, Jesus! service, too!)

I’m telling you, Amy Darlene Spess Nation is an amazing woman. Is it any wonder she’s one of my heroes?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “The Rest of the Story

  1. That is a great miracle!! I’m glad she’s ok.

  2. God is so good to all of us & Amy is a hero to many! Finding the earring was just another way Mary Sue could say she is looking over her kids from Heaven, too!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

