Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Must Obey the Queen!

6 Comments

Molly has a new goal in life.

She’s our rescue Yorkie, and as I’ve mentioned before, she’s the Queen of the Castle around here. For some reason, Queen Molly noticed G-Man going to bed before I did the night of the big snow storm. She must have decided it was too cold for me to be up, so she barked. And barked.

Not her soft little whisper barks, either. They were sharp, “Get with it!” barks. 

And every night since, she’s sharpened her approach.

Last night G-Man headed up, and I watched Ms. Queenie, who was snoozing on the couch. She heard the doggie gate close and came instantly awake. Jumping off the couch, she stalked around a moment, circled, then started telling me what to do.She circles and barks, “Time to go to bed.”

Now!

As soon as I get up, she dashes for the gate.

Where she circles some more. (Makes you wonder why she doesn’t get dizzy, doesn’t it?)

She gets very serious. Very, very serious! “If you don’t open this gate and go to bed right now, I might bite you on the ankle, and in a week or so when you notice that bite, you could get really upset.

So I open the gate and she flies up the stairs, moving too quickly to get a pic. First she stops in one of the boy’s rooms and eyes the bed. I tell her, “No way, Jose!”  

This is Madame Queen in her “bed” I made for her upstairs from a towel. Apparently it doesn’t make her happy enough, because when I got up this morning at 4 am, I found her downstairs.

Doing this–

Back on the couch where she was when all this started, taking a royal snooze.

Does anyone else let their critters take over and rule their homes? Are we the only people who have a pooch who is the boss and thinks she should be the TV star?

Are we the only people in the world who believe it when their dog tells them they’ll be sorry if they don’t obey???

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Must Obey the Queen!

  1. Oh, you know my answer to that, don’t you??? Yes, my puppers rule the world. They pretty much get their way about everything because SOMEBODY who lives here is such a weenie and won’t discipline them. (Nope, not me.)

    As far as being sorry if I don’t obey . . . A few years ago I wanted Shadow to go into his kennel. He said no. I insisted. Three hours, almost all of it spent at the ER, four stitches and one pain pill prescription later, I was very sorry. Lesson learned: never argue with someone who could break your wrist with one bite.

    However, now, for a cookie, he’ll do anything I ask. 😉

    • I know you aren’t the one who won’t discipline. You make them mind!

      Shadow’s bite is worse than his bark, isn’t it? Molly’s only bit is on my pantleg when she’s playing.

      It’s a good thing you learned the cookie trick, huh? I think Shadow probably outweighs you by about 50 pounds. That’s an unfair advantage.

      • I don’t even speak to him when I put him in the kennel. He knows the routine — he growls and barks, I show him the cookie, but I won’t lock the door until he’s settled down. Since he thinks cookies are the most incredible thing in the whole world (after Olivia), he shuts up and sits down.

        He won’t hardly ever do it for Bob, though. But B’s not real good at following routines. 😉

  2. We don’t have any dogs but I have an indoor cat named Kissa who rules the domain. She sleeps on any bed she wants but she has her bed in one of the bedrooms. At bedtime, she tries to go to my room with me but I have been wakened by her too many times to allow her to sleep on our bed. Only occasionally does she do it. I have to shut our bedroom door to keep her out and she goes to another bedroom or two to sleep. 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

