Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Bridge Over Frozen Water

8 Comments

KOTV-DT

Image via Wikipedia

I haven’t ventured out since the snow hit us Monday night/Tuesday morning, but I’ve been thinking about checking on going in to work today.

Then I saw on the news where a Chevy Avalanche went over the edge on a bridge near Miami, Oklahoma with 6 or 8 people in it.

This picture is from the News on 6. (KOTV in Tulsa.)

Right now you can watch it here:

There are/were divers in the water, rescuing the victims as well as other rescue workers who’ve put their lives on the line to rescue these people. They had to take equipment down the embankment to be able to get to the people who were in the truck. Snow clogged their way and made getting to the bottom very difficult. 

Getting the rescuers back out looks as if it’s even harder. I’m not sure how they got the victims out, but none of it could be easy. 

So while I’m praying for the people who were in the Avalanche and the people working on the rescue, I’m thinking I might stay right where I am today. Snug as a bug in my recliner.

I’m not nearly as far north as Miami and we didn’t get as much snow . . . but I do have a few bridges to cross to get to work.

Guess I’d better call someone and see how the roads are. Someone might need me to do something at the office.

How about you? Are you working or staying safe and warm at home?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “Bridge Over Frozen Water

  1. Nah, stay home. It’s -3 degrees, according to the TV right now. (I’m watching the same 6 coverage. How did they get 8 people in that Avalanche? Which means at least 3 weren’t seatbelted, and the last 2 rescued apparently were dead.)

    I don’t want to creat any more hassle for the rescuers out there, so I’m sticking where I’m put. No where’s worth dying to get to.

  2. My thinking exactly, Marilyn!!! Glad you agree.
    Brrr. My toes are cold sitting here in my recliner. Wonder if I can find a reason not to go tomorrow?

  3. That’s such a sad thing to happen. Plunging 80 ft too. I’m staying home too. I haven’t got out since Monday afternoon but I work at home so the job continues on for me. But I prefer it that way. I love to be at home. I haven’t seen my granddaughter this week at all. Monday, her aunt Melissa watched her in Tulsa. These past few days her daddy has been stuck at home in Tulsa. Maybe tomorrow? I’ve been baking cookies and bread and eating it all. My son John is home this week from OSU. We’re thinking about getting out on the four-wheelers in a minute.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

