Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Happy Birthday Amy D!

2 Comments

I first saw her through the glass minutes after she was born, her thick dark hair curling and still damp from her first bath, and her toe stuck in a tiny hole in the pink baby blanket the hospital wrapped her in.

Her big blue eyes were bright and they’ve stayed that way.

This is Amy’s basketball team when she was in 5th grade. She’s #31 and her forever friend, Jonna, is next to her.

This is Amy’s senior picture. Gorgeous, isn’t she?

    This was her birthday last year, just before she did the Mexican Hat Dance!

Favorite Amy memories:

When she was three (or so) she came home from playing with Jonna and got up to the dinner table. “Pass the damn corn.” (Jonna’s big brothers were teaching them new words.)

Mama–“I you’re going to talk like that, you’re never playing with Jonna again.”  

Of course she played with her again the next day.

When she was about five, I gave her a black cat. She named him cotton.

When she was eight or ten, she asked me to take her to see a newly released movie at our drive in. I asked, “Are you sure it’s on out here?”

She answered, “I just saw the commercial on TV and they said it was showing at a theater near me. That’s the nearest one!”

Amy is the Omega to my Alpha. She’s the one most likely to get in trouble with me, who has a huge heart, a faith and love of God that’s amazing to behold.

Love you, Amy. Happy __ birthday and many, many more!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Amy D!

  1. I didn’t read the Little House series until I went back to college for my teaching degree, but I loved them. I don’t think I could choose a favorite but THE LONG WINTER, and FARMER BOY, would be at the top of the list.
    A book that left a lasting impression on me was also historical fiction, A LANTERN IN HER HAND. I don’t remember the author. It was from our school library and I never forgot it. I found a copy at a garage sale and didn’t even look at the price before deciding I had to have it. It meant even more to me as an adult.
    Another really old book that I learned to love in high school was, GIRL OF THE LIMBERLOST. My mother wanted me to read it and I thought she couldn’t possibly like a book I would like. I was wrong. It’s written in a long-gone style but it is a wonderful story of determination.

    • Don’t you love books? I don’t know a good writer who isn’t also a reader.

      I discovered Little House in the Big Woods when I was really young. A year or two later I reread it and found that there were more of those wonderful books.

      It seems like I remember A Lantern in her Hand. I don’t remember what class I read it in, though.
      I’ll have to look it up.
      Thanks for dropping in!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

