Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

It’s a Popcorn and Snitting Day

14 Comments

There were warnings we’d have a bliz (2nd in 2 years) but we hoped it would miss. The stores were all crowded, eggs gone by noon, Wallyworld, Ace Hardware, everyone busy, busy, busy.

And it was a hit. Looking like 11.9 inches in the backyard right now 😉 and it’s still coming down. I’ll be staying in today.

Which makes it a popcorn and snitting day. Snow makes me hungry for popcorn–and not the healthy, dry, air popped variety. I want it popped in oil with salt and (sometimes) butter drizzled over it. To make matters worse, I eat either chocolate or redhots as part of my “snack”. To level things out, though, I drink Diet Dr. Pepper with it. Ü

After I write a little while, I’ll get out my knitting and work on a scarf I started a while back. Or I might get the short-sleeved sweater I started last fall and work on it some more. (I like having a choice.)

All this snow brings to mind Laura Ingalls Wilders’ Little House series. In one of her books she talks about a blizzard winter they lived through. I wish I had that book now–if I knew which one it was in.

I might have to get my Kindle and see if Laura is available there. Then I’ll have to figure out which book it’s in. Little House on Silver Lake? Anybody know?

(BTW: After looking on the Internet, I think it could be THE LONG WINTER. LOL.)

Of course, I might have to download the entire line. I’ve always loved those books.

They hold a special LIW-sized place in my heart. They warm me and make me feel as if I’ve come home and settled into a chair where we can talk over old times. I have no idea what Laura really looked like, but I think I’d know her if she rang my doorbell. LOL. 

Did you read Laura’s books as a kid? Were there other books that did for you what Little House did for me? If you have a minute, why not share? You might open the pages to a book that someone else would never have found.

And they’ll thank you for it!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

14 thoughts on “It’s a Popcorn and Snitting Day

  1. Loved those books!! I have the full set – maybe it is time to read them again!

  2. I never read the Little House books until I home-schooled my children. We read through the series and I cried at the appropriate places (couldn’t help it). That blizzard was the saddest part. I thought they were so brave and strong. We also loved the series on tv with Michael Landon. I have all the books. The Long Winter was all about the blizzard. Here is an excerpt
    “This life is a difficult riddle,
    For how many people we see
    With faces as long as a fiddle
    That ought to be shining with glee
    I am sure in this world there are plenty
    Of good things enough for us all
    And yet there’s not one out of twenty
    But thinks that his share is too small.

    Then what is the use of repining,
    For where there’s a will there’s a way.
    And tomorrow the sun may be shining,
    Although it is cloudy today.

    Do you think that by sitting and sighing
    You’ll ever obtain all you want?
    It’s cowards alone that are crying
    And foolishly saying, ‘I can’t!’
    It is only by plodding and striving
    And laboring up the steep hill
    Of life, that you’ll ever be thriving
    Which you’ll do if you’ve only the will.”

    On the Banks of Plum Creek has a chapter about The Long Blizzard in it too.
    My favorite books from childhood were the Little Women series. I loved Jo so much. I also loved Heidi. But I believe my favorite books as a child was The Boxcar Kids. I could make-believe that life all day!
    Also we had a magical time in the fourth grade with our teacher Mrs. Gray. She would read to us after lunch for an hour. She read Silver Wolf to us. We waited excitedly every day for her to continue the story. I loved that book and that woman. 🙂
    I am sure in this wor

    • You home schooled your kids? I had no idea. I had no wish to do that!!! But my sister who has 5 kids did. She loved it.
      I’ve never read the Boxcar Kids, but I’ll put them on my list.
      I loved LITTLE WOMEN, too!
      PLUM CREEK was a favorite of mine. Wasn’t that where they got that bad girl (what was her name?) into the part of the creek with the leeches? I loved that! LOL.
      Our 7th grade reading teacher read RIFLES FOR WAITE to us. I loved it!

      • Yes, I home-schooled my oldest daughter through the seventh grade, my youngest daughter through the fourth grade and my son through the sixth grade. It got to be overwhelming for me with all three of them getting into the science and I decided to become just “mother” again. It all worked out and two daughters are graduated from Oklahoma Wesleyan and OU and working at St Francis, one as an RN in labor and delivery and the other a sonographer in cardiology. My son is attending OSU studying Psychology.

        • I can see why it would be overwhelming! You did a fantastic job homeschooling them.
          I always worried when my kids too Psychology in college. I was afraid they’d figure out how my brain works and I’d be in trouble. LOL.

  3. i heart the little house series… i used to read them over and over. i could be wrong, but i believe the blizzard is in “the long winter.” :))

  4. Oh that book that our teacher read to us was Silver Chief Dog of the North. If you’ve never read that, it would make a wonderful book on Kindle. It is gripping.

  5. Though I read voraciously all through my life, I’ve never read Laura Ingalls Wilder. I’ve always meant to. I’m not sure how I missed her, except that I was reading mysteries — the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, Trixie Belden — and writing my own stories.

    • I still haven’t read Trixie’s books. I’ve got to put them on my list, too! And I’m very glad you started writing your own at an early age. Made for some great reading when you started selling those puppies!

  6. Oh yes — “The Boxcar Children”! Mrs Pote — my fourth grade teacher in Cushing, OK read those books as well as the “Little House” books, to us after lunch every day!! Loved them — and her!!

    • I think it really makes you love a teacher who reads a book to you. Especially after lunch. Our teacher would sometimes turn off the lights (it was daytime anyway) and it made it even more special.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

