Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Mama’s Mexican Casserole

7 Comments

Mission Tortilla Triangles

Image via Wikipedia

Now we know what Heaven smells like!

I posted this recipe to one of my pages, but when I had trouble finding it, I decided to put it here. Next time I want it, I can just click on the recipes tab at the top of the page and find it. (I hope.)

BTW: My sister, Lisa, commented on the page entry and said when she gets too homesick for Mama, she makes this for dinner. 

I’m posting this for Marley Hamberg, one of those people who always makes me laugh, which makes her a favorite of mine. Her mama and my mama were good friends. They shared many a pot of coffee and prayer request with each other.

Marley asked for the recipe, so I thought I’d share it with all y’all.

Everyone in C-Town thinks of this as just Mexican Casserole, but Mama got the recipe from her sister, Aunt Carol, who lives in the small town in Baja, Oklahoma where Mama graduated from high school. 

We went down to visit her and her family one summer, and Aunt C fixed this for us to eat. We made it disappear without anyone having to say one-two-three go! Six kids in a family tend to do that. 😉

Anyway, we liked it so much Mama got the recipe, then shared it with anyone who asked. It got where several people took it to every church pot luck. One of my brother’s friends even thought HIS mother gave it to our mom rather than the other way around.

I always call it Mary Sue’s Mexican Casserole so there’s no question.

Brown a pound-and-a-half or two of hamburger meat and drain off the fat. While still in the skillet add:

1 can mild enchilada sauce
1 small can chopped green chilis (not jalapenos)
2 small cans taco sauce (I can’t find it in cans anymore, so I buy a bottle and pour in about 1/2 cup.)
2 cans Golden Mushroom Soup
Mix well and pour into a casserole dish with crushed plain tortilla chips in the bottom and whole ones around the side.

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. Top with shredded cheese and bake another five minutes or until melted.

Serve with more tortilla chips on the side and a little salsa. 

If you want a really good, hearty dip, heat the ingredients in the pan, don’t add chips or put in the oven, and serve with tortilla chips on the side for dipping.  

Either way . . . enjoy!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

7 thoughts on “Mama’s Mexican Casserole

  1. I have this recipe from Grandmommy too! I love to make it – its so yummy. It’s always special to cook a recipe from someone you loved so much. It brings back memories and makes you feel closer to them. No wonder Aunt Lisa makes it when she misses her! You know I will take ANY recipes you have, especially any of Grandmommy or Grandmother’s. This is making me hungry. . . .now I need to make some Grandmother Chili!

  2. Just found this on Marley’s wall……too precious to pass up! I’m hosting a Dinner Club in a couple weeks. Thinking I’ll do a Mary Sue theme. 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

