Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Sing a New Song

6 Comments

There are two songs that really hit me where I live these days. The first is How Great is our God–Chris Tomlinson. I love singing it in church with other Christians. I love singing it during my solo worship time. I even like it when the song gets stuck in my head and goes round and round.

This is a video of Chris talking about writing the song, then singing it.

The other song that has taken up residence in my head is Revelation Song.

The music is beautiful, but it’s the words that touch my heart.

Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Holy, holy is He
Sing a new song to Him who sits on
Heaven’s mercy seat

Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Holy, holy is He
Sing a new song to Him who sits on
Heaven’s mercy seat

Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty
Who was and is and is to come
With all creation I sing praise to the King of kings
You are my everything and I will adore You

Clothed in rainbows of living color
Flashes of lighting rolls of thunder
Blessing and honor strength and glory and power be
To You the only one who’s King
Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty
Who was and is and is to come
With all creation I sing praise to the King of kings
You are my everything and I will adore You

Filled with wonder awestruck wonder
At the mention of Your name
Jesus Your name is power, breath and living water
Such a marvelous mystery

Oh, You’re worthy, mystery
You are worthy

Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty
Who was and is and is to come
With all creation I sing praise to the King of kings
You are my everything and I will adore You, I will adore You

Of course, there have been lots of songs over the years that touched me. Amazing Grace was my mother’s forever favorite.

I’ll Fly Away always brings a smile to my face as I remember singing it at countless  Christian get-togethers. (ie: Sunday morning, Sunday night, revivals, church camp, etc.) Just Over in the Glory Land.

All the songs from the Kiamichi Songbook. 😉 That was a song book we had at church  which had very hard to read music–because of the way it was printed. I’m not sure about this, but I think it came from the Kiamichi Men’s Clinic. My dad used to go there every year with several other men from our church. We’ve laughed at so many good stories Dad told about Kiamichi over the years!

I believe Ronnie Epps, our preacher back in my early , was the one who got them started going. 

And there is still a Kiamichi Men’s Clinic! (I googled it)  And, big surprise! Ronnie is the main speaker this year. There’s a Preacher Boy contest for budding preachers. I think I’ll pop back over and see if I can find a list of winning preachers. I think I know some of them. 🙂

Are Christian songs and the memories they bring back beautiful? What are your favs?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Sing a New Song

  1. Good Morning!
    My old pastor, Joe Wright, is also a speaker at the clinic!! I think that he and Ronnie are old friends.
    I posted my verse yesterday! Now to study it!!
    LY

    • I posted mine, too. I’m afraid it’s another one that I’ll have trouble remembering which comes first. Do not return evil for evil or insult for insult but blessing, because to this you were called that you might receive a blessing.

      I did that without lookiing. Wonder if it’s right. 🙂

      Anybody else post their SSMT?

  2. I love old gospel songs. The last few times I went to church with Mom, I didn’t know any of the songs. 😦

    I think I’ll Fly Away (as done by the Statler Brothers) is my absolute favorite. How Great Thou Art. Have a Little Talk with Jesus. When the Saints Go Marching In. Lay My Burden Down.

    And my second all-time favorite: I Can Only Imagine by Mercy Me. (You knew that, didn’t you?)

  3. I love I’ll Fly Away done by anybody!

    Just thinking about revivals or Sunday nights in the hot summer and singing in four part harmony, “I’ll fly away, oh glory, I’ll fly away, in the morning. When I die, hallelujah by and by! I’ll fly away. Just a few more weiry days and then, I’ll fly away. . . .

    Now that’s good singing!

    I love I Can Only Imagine, too. I didn’t know you liked it. Dorothea sang it at my FIL’s funeral. She does a great job! Not MM, but she made me cry.

  4. Those first two songs are two of my favorites! Have you listened to Jesus Culture? You can find them on YouTube. They are very good.

    • I haven’t heard of Jesus Culture, Terri, but I’ll see if I can’t find it.
      I’m telling you, we are related! We have to be. We like all the same stuff.
      (Through the blood of Christ, if no other way!)
      Glad you came to see me!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

