Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The Dreaded TT

4 Comments

Illustration of subroutine in Microsoft Excel ...

Image via Wikipedia

First let me say I’m not a natural-born bookkeeper type person. I went to a Christian College and then fashion merchandising school–so I don’t have a numbers background. (Although I did a lot of number stuff when we owned the pharmacy.)  

We’ve started the dreaded Tax Time at the office. TT is not a fun time of the year–for me at least. Why, you ask?

Because, it’s the only time when the Boss (Pop) gets a little cranky. Maybe more than a little now and then. I usually get “fired” a few times when I interrupt him at the wrong time, but I try to take it in stride. 😉

I made a sign to put on his door when he’s hard at work on TT. It’s a happy (not) face with crossed eyes, a zigzagging mouth and his hair standing on end. When I tape it on his door, I usually get grin from him–very brief.

My part of the info that’s turned into taxes (I put revenue on an Excel spreadsheet) got gilflirted this year, so I’ve got to get to work this morning and fix it. It’s not what I call fun, but I can do it.

There’s got to be a way to keep me from shooting myself in the foot from now on.

Betcha next year I’ll be more careful! I guess I could take my jump-drive and save it there each month from now on.   

If you know how to do this stuff without making mincemeat out of it, let me know. Any and all suggests are welcome!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “The Dreaded TT

  1. I don’t like Tax Time either but I’m the only one to blame. I only have to get everything together for the accountant though. I usually put it off too long. I get my W-2’s out speedily now though. It’s all there for me on QuickBooks. I just print it out so easily.

    • Oh, believe me. My faults are all my own! Gotta do better from now on.
      Dad does all his taxes then sends it to the accountant. If they match, great. If they don’t, it’s usually the accountant who’s wrong.
      I’ve never done my own taxes. I’d end up in jail if I tried.

  2. Taxes are evil.

    I use Turbo Tax and have learned to at least load the program onto the computer before the morning of the 15th. Heck, last year I was such an earlybird that I actually mailed them before the local post office closed at 5. (We’re always in that long line of cars snaking around the downtown Tulsa post office at 11 p.m.)

    I kinda missed that last-minute-rush feeling.

    • You always give me a chuckle, marilyn.
      My brother uses Turbo Tax, but *sigh* I’m just not that brave. I just know I’d forget something, and my C(ousin)PA remembers the stuff I forget to give her. TGFCpas!!!

      So glad you came by.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

