Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

A NEW Year

8 Comments

This is it! 2011–a shiny, brand-spanking new year!

The date’s 1-1-11.  In ten days it’ll be 1-11-11. And in November we’ll have 11-11-11. Which, if you consider it, might just be the year for several firsts.

One of those firsts is . . . I’m cleaning, organizing, working hard in my office for the first time in a long time. It had turned into a place to put things I didn’t want to think about.

This is behind my desk. I took this picture because it’s the least messy place in the room.

There’s a bed under this mess. I found it yesterday. Sad, isn’t it? Hard to believe that an adult would let any place in her house look like this. You know what they say . . . out of sight, out of mind. I definitely had to be out of my mind to let this room come to such a state. A-C-K!!!

Last October when Holly Jacobs spoke to RWI at our retreat, she mentioned that the only thing that upsets her is when someone is staying with her and doesn’t put things where they belong. She can’t stand a mess.

Guilt bit Aunt Betty (I’m going to have to tell you about Aunt Betty one of these days) when she said it. Not hard enough, apparently, because I’ve just started the real cleaning process.

There’s probably a whole sermon here. If I were a minister, I’d use these pictures as an example of how we keep sins hidden in our lives, but sooner or later, we have to account for them, unless we know the Saviour.

Aren’t you glad I’m not a preacher? <g>

One of my problems is I don’t have any place to store things and keep them organized. This room is where I keep all my office and craft/hobby stuff, and it’s just impossible.

As a writer, I buy tons of books. I just can’t keep them all, but it’s so hard to give them away. (I’m hoping my new Kindle will help with that!) Right now I have several bags full to pass on.  

I’m determined, though. When I find the floor-bed-desktop, I’m going buy more storage and give everything a “place”. I just hope I can figure something out.

Being the world’s least organized person, I’ll probably have a really hard time. I honestly try to get organized and usually just end up confused. It’s a sad state of  affairs.

Any and all suggestions are welcome! Just speak up. If you think of something brilliant, I’ll give you a bag of books! 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “A NEW Year

  1. That room looks like my home office room too. I just don’t seem to have anywhere to put all my stuff. I haven’t got a clear picture of what to do with it all.

    Question: What exactly does represent? I assume it is a smile of some sort but just wondered? Here’s my smile: :))

  2. Oh it didn’t show up in the comments. I was asking about the less than and greater than signs around the g. 🙂

    • is a grin, Junebug. I can’t believe you have an office that’s anywhere close to mine. You seem so organized!
      Have a place to put stuff is the secret. And being able to find it after you put it up. LOL!
      I always knew I like you. 🙂

  3. It’s a grin, June, back before the days smileys got inserted automatically.

    You can’t be the most disorganized person in the world, Susan, because I am. Honestly, I lost a pair of pajama pants in the house. Have searched EVERYWHERE and can’t find them. They never left the bedroom except to go to the laundry room next door, and yet they are GONE. I can’t find anything after it leaves my hands.

    My solution right now is to start tossing things. Sentimental stuff will be packed in the attic, but anything else . . . if I haven’t used it in six months and/or it costs less than $10 to replace, it’s out the door. I’m drowning in stuff!!

    • When you finish at your house, M, will you fix mine? I. Need. Help.
      I’m amazed at how much stuff I had crammed in there. LOL! Still in the middle of it all. I wish I had more energy after work.

      • It might be better if we trade — I’ll do your house and you do mine. We don’t have any sentimental attachment to each other’s stuff, right? 😉

  4. I am a closet hoarder. I cannot throw anything away. When I cut material I save the scraps. I save sheets out of notebooks just in case for scrap paper. I mean clean sheets that aren’t used. I have old jeans that I may wear again someday. I parted with many pairs of jeans this spring but I still have 30 pairs probably that could go. I need intervention. 🙂

    • Oh, Terri. I think you’re a Spess. We don’t throw anything away. It’s horrible! But when we need something, we usually have it . . . if we can find it in the mess. LOL.
      You know, Marilyn made a quilt from jeans one time. She could probably tell you how, then you wouldn’t have to get rid of them. Ü

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

