Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Barbie Has Brains!

8 Comments

Barbie dolls are almost exclusively considered...

Image via Wikipedia

This is a first for me. I’m posting this the night before it’s gonna publish. Let’s just hope I make sense. LOL.

I wanted to tell you about lunch today. My brother’s oldest daughter is home for Christmas, so we all went out to lunch. (At least those of us who weren’t out of pocket.)

Now I have to tell you, this girl is gorgeous and has brains out the wazoo. (Think Barbie with a ton of brains.) Her younger sister is also, well, a doll with brains and spice.

These are my bro’s girlies. Didn’t lie, did I? They’re both b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l, and uber smart, too! If you could meet their mom and dad, you’d understand. Julie’s as pretty as the girls are, and Jeffrey looks like a young Cary Grant. They have a younger son who’s a lady killer. You should see this kid! 

I just love the stuffin’s out of all of them! Lucky person that I am, I get to work with Laura (the honey on the right in the picture) once in a while. She’s going to be an elementary teacher. I have a feeling that when she gets that job, a bunch of not-elementary-aged-guys will flock in to try to do  the Billy Madison thing.

And Ashley (real-live-Barbie) is almost a PA–that’s Physician’s Assistant for those of you who don’t know. (If I know, everyone knows! LOL) She lives in a Far Away Land–Tennessee–is married to a minister (!) and is nearly an almost-doc.

I know next-to-nothing about PAs, but I understand they have to learn 3/4 of what a med student does in 1/2 the time! Or is it the other way around? Anyway, it isn’t easy to do, and this girl is at the tip-top of her class. (Told you Barbie has brains!)

And she not only told me she reads this blog, she proved it by quoting it a couple of times. *Gulp!*

I don’t even have good stories about her. She was one of those nice girls who really didn’t do anything to tell stories about–well, maybe once.

She was spending the night, and Grandaddy told her she had to eat her salad. (She didn’t like lettuce. Just crutons, cheese and dressing.) She cried, which made my BB feel sorry for her. He stepped in ate it for her so she wouldn’t have to. And that’s the worst story I can tell about Ashley. 😉

Now, Ashley, prove you read my blog. POST A COMMENT!!! At least say hi. <G>

Love you!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “Barbie Has Brains!

  1. I agree, they are gorgeous! Good genes!!!!
    Hope you are having fun down there while I am working harder than a one-armed paper hanger!!!!!!
    LY

    • #4–I always think you’re busier than a one legged man at a hiney kicking contest or a long-tailed cat in a room full of rockers. 😉
      Sorry you have to work so hard. I wish you could take more time off. 😦 Some day . . . !
      LY2

  2. Oh, Susan, if Ashley is the one on the left, she looks exactly like you with blonde hair! It’s amazing. I saw her last week with her dad in the grocery store. I said to my husband, “is that his wife ’cause she sure looks young”. He said that it is his daughter. They are both gorgeous.

  3. You know, when I saw that picture of the Barbie doll in the case with the wire around her head I was thinking, “which one of these haven’t I seen? Frontal Lobotomy Barbie?” spw

  4. Aunt SuSu, here I am blushing! Thanks for all of the sweet things you said (even if you were too kind with some of your descriptions). The retelling of the salad story made me laugh – I will always remember it and how I was saved from the peril of eating lettuce. I’m glad I get to read your blog and keep up with your life – it makes me feel closer to you and our family. LOVE YOU!

    • Hey Ashley,
      I just call ’em like I see ’em. You are absolutely beautiful, inside and out. So’s your little sister. I love being related to you. Gives me an excuse to say I love you without being weird. LOL.
      Salad story–may have been the first time I realized what a big heart my son has. I’m mighty proud of him, too!
      LY!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

