Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Another New Year

6 Comments

Did you know in only four days, it’ll be 2011? (Except on my checks, where I’ll probably forget what year  it is for the next six months.)

For many people, January 1 means resolutions or goal setting. December 31 is the day to check and see how you did last year–and I will. (Later!)

It’s been easier for me this year because I made a vision board. If I could get in my office (I’m not a great out-of-sight cleaner–if I can’t see it, I don’t clean it, and my office is out of my sight most of the time) the board was right there and I could see what I’d planned at a glance.

I’ll fill you in more about that later.

So I’m thinking I’ll have a couple of different resolutions this year. I’m planning to be part of SSMT.  Click on the SSMT to learn more. I think it’ll be very worthwhile for me. (That is IF I can figure out how to do it! LOL.)

And I think there’s going to be a change in what I write–from what I can tell anyway. I’m very excited about a new story that’s blooming in my mind. Yeah, it’s one of those things that I’m not sure what else to do but write since it’s kind of living inside my head all the time these days.

I’ll have to talk to friends and ask them if they’ll tell me about their experiences. We’ll see! <g>

That also means I need to find the market for this kind of book. I don’t know that it’s exactly inspirational, but it’s certainly a family type book.

So that’s the beginning of my road map for next year. How about you? Do you make resolutions? Set goals? Or is New Years Day just another holiday?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Another New Year

  1. I always make goals, but as I mentioned before on my blog and others, goals are made to evolve and change. Static goals set one up for disappointment and failure, and most of us have enough of that in our lives so why purposely set yourself up? 🙂

    I’m planning to make greens and black-eyed peas though I think I forgot one of the other traditions. My family thinks I’m nuts, but that’s not new.

    Happy New Year, Sus!

  2. I have plans but no goals yet. I’m going to see a nutritionist to find a healthier way to eat (it’s tough to get enough protein when you don’t like the usual protein sources!). I want to start doing yoga again as soon as I can down to and up from the floor easily. I also want to find a good massage therapist.

    • Marilyn–
      A massage therapist? Now that’s a goal I could live with! You’re such a great cook, it’s gotta be hard to make meals really healthy–especially if that means leaving out butter and cream and the other good stuff. 😉
      Did you stop liking meat lately? That’s pretty good protein, isn’t it?

      • I love butter. And heavy cream and sour cream and cream cheese. I plan to try tweaking some recipes to make them, if not healthy, at least healthier.

        Meat’s okay; I’d just rather stuff myself with potatoes and pasta and veggies. I only get about half the amount of protein I should every day, so I need to expand beyond the meat/poultry/seafood stuff. I do like tofu and beans, but I need to learn more about nutrients/nutrition.

  3. Hi Margaret–
    Very true about evolving goals. Making them sort of general helps, too. They just can’t be TOO general or that defeats the purpose.
    Thanks for coming by!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

