Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Eclipsed

4 Comments

Lunar Eclipse

Image via Wikipedia

I got a call from G-Man yesterday while I was at work. “How would you like to get up at 2:3 0 in the morning with me and watch the eclipse?”

Always ready to do something different, I answered, “Sounds like fun!”

*Snort!* We looked into it a little deeper and found it actually started at 12:30 and would end around 4. By 10:30 I was ready to crash. (I’m usually out like a boxer with a glass jaw by ten. Not a big party-er. Can you tell?)

So G-Man set his alarm for 1:00 am and we hit the hay. When the monster blared, I hopped out of bed, changed out of my sleep shorts into my just-crawled-out-of-bed pants and skipped downstairs. Okay, I didn’t skip, but I made it down the stairs without falling on my face more than once.

When I got down, I didn’t stop. (Afraid I wouldn’t get moving again.) I just headed straight out the door. The earth’s shadow had taken a bite out of the moon, covering a good third of it. I thought about grabbing my camera, but that meant actually unzipping the bag and taking off the lens cover before I pointed it at the sky, so I eighty-sixed that idea.

After watching the moon not change for a few moments, I glanced around to see if my neighbors were all out, oohing and awing. Nope. (Smart neighbors.)

After a few, G-Man came out–fully dressed–to join me. We looked again (moon still hadn’t changed) and went back inside where he had a bowl of ice cream. I had a Diet Dr. Pepper and turned on the TV.

When our treats were gone, we wobbled back outside and the moon had turned a shadowy red color. Now that was worth getting out of bed for, and probably why a lunar eclipse is also called a blood moon.

We admired the moon’s new look for a couple of seconds before we staggered back to bed.

Sorry I don’t have pictures of the big E for you. Now you don’t get to see the eclipse and it’s all my fault. I’m sure you can find a ton of them other places online, or do this–next time there’s a full moon look up, then hold your finger in front of your face so that it covers up about a third of it. You can make your own eclipse. 😉

I wish I could tell you I’d made whipped cream topped hot chocolate in cups rimmed with powdered peppermint for G-Man to sip while we enjoyed the show last night, but I didn’t. (Sorry.)

I did good to get out of bed and not spew. Being startled awake by a blaring monster in the middle of the night upsets my stomach for some reason. Fixing my glass of DDP was almost more than I could handle.

But hey, there’s another  lunar eclipse next year in December. Maybe I’ll do better then. (Really, don’t count on it.)

Did you get up and watch the beauty of the eclipse? Did you take pictures of the blood moon?

Wanna share? 😉

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Eclipsed

  1. I wanted to watch it, but the fog rolled in and I can barely see my streetlight much less an eclipsing moon! This was the first eclipse that happened on the winter solstice in 1638! . . . wait a second, wasn’t that when the little ice age of the 17th century hit?

    • I didn’t know that, margaret. I knew the next one wouldn’t be for a long time, though.
      Dad said it was foggy, too. (He lives directly south of me about 10 or 15 miles.) It didn’t get foggy here until after the eclipse. What I saw of it was great. Just wish I were a middle of the night person so I could have really enjoyed it.

  2. Nope, we chatted about it… knew it would be last night, but neither of us bothered to even look. I’m sure there will be tons of photo documentation, better than I could take with my tiny digital camera. spw

    • I thought about you, Sandee. I didn’t know if you’d be able to see it over there or not. I didn’t even try to take pictures. If I’d set up my tripod, I might have gotten some good ones, but I didn’t have the strength. 😉

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

