Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Snitted Stockings

8 Comments

Done! (Tada)

Can you believe it? This is where I started a few days ago. Okay. It was like the day after Thanksgiving–several days ago.  

The stocking in the middle is how far I’d gotten a few days ago.

And now I’m finished! I even have the top, the loop and the initial finished. Not hard, but a little time consuming. Here’s the only, uh, thing. (I don’t want to call it a problem. No way!)

One DIL2b is Nicole, the other is Nikki. Same initial. The thing is how to know which is which. Should I add ornaments or baby pictures or something to all the stockings? I want them to be a little bit individual but alike. You know? 

I think I need some help here. Can you think of something cute and imaginative I can do to to these little snits so everyone feels really special?  

 Please? I need all the help I can get!

Oh, and I need new stocking holders, too. But I don’t want anything shiny and new looking. Unless I can come up with something (a bent, rusty horseshoe nail?) I’m going to use 3M hooks.

H-E-L-P!!!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “Snitted Stockings

  1. Ok this is all I’ve got: the two stripes means it’s the second Nicole, not Nikki. 🙂

  2. Good idea, Junebug. If I can remember which one gets the stripes. 😉 Wait! I can always go back to this blog and remember. LOL
    Or if I could find light balsa wood ornaments I could attach one to every stocking and put their names on them. Hm.

  3. Do they make little pin buttons that have names? In that little store on Broadway in Cleveland next to Dr. Evan’s office they have several things that have names. You might look there. Those little tiny coffee cups with names? Could you sew the handles on the stocking? They are the cutest cups ever.

  4. Great idea, Terri! Amy and I love to go in that place. I’ll see if they have all our names. Now I’m excited!

  5. I LOVE my red sparkly stocking with the white trim!!! It’s so special all by itself!!!!! 🙂

    • I’m glad you like it, Nikki. I’d still like to add grade school pictures or something to them.
      I’m looking forward to the day I get to knit smaller stockings, if you get my meaning.
      No pressure, though. LOL.

  6. I think htye are great just the way they are,

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

