Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The First Time

1 Comment

I had a blind date.

It was many years ago (surprised you for a minute, didn’t I?) and it wasn’t my first, but it was the best. That was the day I met G-Man. (My husband.)

Here’s what happened–after two years at Ozark Bible College, I went to a business school in The Big City. There I met a girl from the town to the north of C-Town and we became very good friends. She was crazy about the guy she was dating and kept telling me I should go out with his roommate.

“I don’t like blind dates,” I answered several times. Then one day I said, “Is that cute pharmacist your boyfriend rooms with still single?”

He was. (Lucky me!) So we set up a double-date for December 7th.

I lived in an apartment building that was built in a square with a pool in the middle. Every apartment in my section faced the pool, and since I lived in a two bedroom (my roommate was a school teacher) we had a sliding glass door instead of a regular door.

My apartment was easy to find, so they picked me up first. It was frigid that night(about like it is right now. Brrr!) and breezy. And, naturally, I wasn’t quite ready when they got there.
When I heard them knock, I ran to the living room to yell, “Just a minute!” through the closed drapes and heavy glass door.

“Hurry up!” A man answered. “It’s cold out here.” (The icy wind just kept swirling in those squares.)

So I grabbed my purse and yanked back the curtain. Two men stood there. A tall, slender blond and a shorter man with auburn hair. Heart pounding, I opened the door so they could warm up a little before we left.

I was used to going out on blind dates and wishing I’d gotten the other guy. Not this time, though. While the other guy was very nice and good looking, I got the one I
Oldsmobile Cutlass photographed in Waldorf, Ma...

Image via Wikipedia

would have picked if there’d been a box full of them. 

I got the cute, red-headed guy with the shy smile and smart mouth.

We rushed to G-Man’s car (Oldsmobile Cutlass. Loved the car!) and jumped inside. “Okay, how do we get to Mary’s house?”

Do what? Mary lived on a funny street somewhere and I’d only been there once. I twisted in the seat and stared at the other guy. “You’re dating her. Don’t you know how to get there?”

“Naw. I usually see her back home.”

I directed G-Man to her house the best I could, and after only a few times of saying, “Wait. Maybe we should have turned the other way back there”, we found it. (G-Man shouldn’t have been surprised that I’m missing the directional gene, but to this day he is!)

Although I’d given them fantastic directions (snort!) we were too late the see a movie as we’d planned, so we went dancing instead. We all went to the movie the next night. Again, I had a wonderful time. I couldn’t wait for him to call and ask me out again.

But, nothing. He didn’t call. He didn’t drop by. He didn’t even send word with Mary. I was heart-broken, because I thought he was great fun and funny–for me a deadly duo. When I still didn’t hear after a few more days, I accepted a date with a guy to his company Christmas party.

When I got home that night, my phone rang. G-Man. (Silent squeal!) “I’ve called and called,” he said. “You’re never home!”

So we started dating and going to lunch and having a great time. He had a motorcycle, and I loved motorcycles! By Christmas, I was head over heels in love.  Cool car, cool motorcycle, what’s not to love?

Motorcycle stunt; driver: Rainer Schwarz

Image via Wikipedia

He proposed on February 2nd. At least I think he proposed. It might have been me, but who’s counting? 😉

The next May, we were married.

I know. That’s only five-and-a-half months after we met. Not long enough to really know someone. Not long enough to learn a person’s bad habits or find out what they think about having children or where to live or how to spend money. There were so many things the experts tell you to find out beforehand these days.

We just lucked into love and, as naturally as night follows day, into marriage.

There might even have been people who thought it wouldn’t last and weren’t brave enough to voice it, but it has. And I’m so glad it did.      

 I probably should have sent Mary a thank you note. Maybe I’ll send her a belated one, now. Or maybe not. 😉 

Hey, Mary! If you read this–thanks!!!

By the way, Mary also married her date, and they’re still married. Isn’t that just a perfect ending?

Now, why don’t you share your first time with me?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

One thought on “The First Time

  1. Pingback: The Day I Met My Honey | Small Town World . . .

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

