Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

BEDLAM

Leave a comment

My new header is a picture of the guys where I work, ready for the big game. My niece asked if I was on the fence, since I’m wearing black. (I’m the one on the far right.)

Nope. I’m the black of orange and black. OSU’s colors.

Oklahoma State University Athletics logo

Image via Wikipedia

Trouble is, I couldn’t get the entire picture in the header. It left Baby Sister out. So here’s the entire thing:

Oklahoma Sooners athletic logo

Image via Wikipedia

#6 is holding an OU football. For some reason, I couldn’t get it in the picture. Heh-heh. Sorry, Little Sister. No can do.

Here’s another picture–with Carollea and without Amy and Sharon.

But here’s my favorite of all. No one expected this to be taken.

Jane is explaining something to Mendy about her daughter and why she’s wearing that red color.

To be very honest, most of the group doesn’t care all THAT much who wins the game. We’d like to see “our” team carry the trophy home, but even if they don’t it won’t make all that much difference.

To one or two of the crew, though, it’s killer.

My son is one of those. He’s also an OSU graduate. In fact, many of Ray Spess’s grandchildren attended or graduated from OSU. So many, I’ve suggested they change the name to Oklahoma Spess University. 8) Just kidding!

I found this on Wikipedia:

The Bedlam Series refers to the athletics rivalry between the University of Oklahoma Sooners and the Oklahoma State University Cowboys, of the Big 12 Conference‘s South Division. Both schools were also members of the Big 8 Conference before the formation of the Big 12 Conference in 1996.

The Douglas Cup

In 1900, in Oklahoma Territory, Oklahoma A&M (later Oklahoma State) veterinary medicine professor Dr. L.L. Lewis assembled a group of A&M students to participate in the first territorial Track and Field Meet. Held on May 4, 1900, the event included Alva Normal College, Central Normal of Edmond, Kingfisher College and the University of Oklahoma, along with OAMC. The prize of the tournament was a silver cup donated by a local jeweler named Douglas. Surprisingly, A&M won the meet and returned to Stillwater with the traveling trophy.

In 1901, A&M won again, and a third consecutive win would mean permanent retirement of the Douglas Cup in Stillwater. The meet was held on May 23, 1902, with the Aggies amassing the most points. Oklahoma filed a protest based on the pole vault competition not having been completed due to darkness, however, Oklahoma A&M claimed the Douglas cup.

The next day the Sooners held their own vault competition and declared themselves the victor. Several weeks later, the Douglas Cup was missing from its place in a glass case at the Oklahoma A&M chemistry lab. Suspecting that OU students had stolen the Cup, a group of A&M students retrieved the Cup from Norman, supposedly burying it under Old Central for safekeeping.

"Old Central", OSU, Stillwater OK, c...

Image via Wikipedia

 

Ten years later, when excavation was being done for A&M’s Gundersen Hall, the trophy was found. Today it resides in OSU’s Heritage Hall.

I don’t know why the rivalry is called Bedlam, except it tends to make people crazy, and Bedlam was the name of a mental institution at one time.

Or maybe it’s because it makes some fans as crazy as bedbugs. 😉

Anybody know?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

