Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Deathly Hallows

2 Comments

Have you seen the new Harry Potter movie? G-Man and I went last night after work. We saw the 9:40 movie. I know, really late for this early-to-bed girl. (I’m usually dozing in my chair by 9:40)

G-Man wanted to go, and I make it a policy to never say no when he wants to go somewhere. So we drove to T-Town, bought tickets to see Harry on the big screen (IMAX, the REALLY big screen) then went to eat at Smashburger.

Logo of the franchise SmashBurger.

Image via Wikipedia

The burgers weren’t bad, even if they were a little messy. The haystack onion rings were fantastic! I was tempted to try the sweet potato fries, but I know how delicious the onion rings are, and couldn’t pass them up.

Since we still had a good hour before the movie when we finished eating, we did a little shopping. (G-Man sat in the car, I shopped.)

Finally, we went to the theater. We didn’t stand in line. The seats weren’t crowded. I think the show’s been out a week or two, so it kind of surprised me that it wasn’t busier, but it was fine with me.

Harry Potter

Image by Pixelsior via Flickr

Harry’s all grown up. He’s not that smooth-faced little boy anymore. Now he has a five o’clock shadow and an adult’s voice. He still wears the same glasses, though, so he’s still Harry.

The flick goes on a little long for my taste, but there are lots of pyrotechnics and CGs going on, so I stayed awake for the whole thing! (Unusual!) 

This movie seemed to be a kind of lead in movie. Kind of like backstory in a book. You have to know it, but it’s not the best fun getting through it. Which makes me anxious to see part 2. 

Rupert Grint outside the premiere of 'Harry Po...

Image via Wikipedia

Maybe if I’d read the books, it’d help. Or not.

Have you read them? Do you think fans should read first and then seeing the movies or the other way around?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Deathly Hallows

  1. Small world, we went and saw this last night to. I feel the same way, it was a little long and it felt like little was accomplished but I realize that if they had tried to fit everything into that allotted time I probably would have been disappointed.

    I would suggest reading the books before seeing the movie, especially since there are parts in the movie that someone might not understand if they haven’t been keeping up with the books. I’m sure they’ll reference them in the next movie but, on the off chance, you could miss out on something ^.^

    Still, for a Book-to-Movie transition I’ve always thought they were done well.

  2. Hey, Candice!
    See, it is a small (town) world!
    I guess I’ll have to break down and buy the books, because there is a thing or two I want to know and either we haven’t learned it yet or I fell asleep when they told us. Like, why does the bad guy have no nose? Was he born that way or is it Harry’s fault?
    If Harry caused it, I can’t blame him for being hacked off. That’s u-g-l-y!
    🙂 I’m so glad you came by!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

