Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

How’d Your Thankgiving Go?

2 Comments

Terminally Curious rearing her ugly head again and asking, how did your Thanksgiving go?   T.C. Okay, it’s not really. <g>

We had a great time. Everyone came–and all brought food! (Yay!) This year, the DIL brought sweet potato pie, and left it so I could totally destroy my diet instead of just partially destroying it.

Of course, my diet wouldn’t have survived my apple cake with caramel icing and whipped cream AND the hard sauce. The Pioneer Woman cursed me with this fabulous recipe on her website. OMG!!! If you don’t have an aversion to a little bit of alcohol, try this. *Homer Simpson Sound*

Homer Simpson

Image via Wikipedia

 One half cup of butter, one-and-a-half cups of powdered sugar and two tablespoons of brandy. Like my granddad use to say, it’ll make your tongue lap your brains out. And since I just happen to have a bottle of brandy that I use for one teaspoon a year in my Christmas cookies, I tried it. Turns out it was a little strong for my taste, so I mixed it with whipped cream.

Not exactly a dieter’s delight but  Y! U! M!

We did have one less than perfect moment in the day. Satan in the form of a red wasp made an attack on the family. Actually, Mr. Buzzy just flew through the room, but DIL has a real aversion to the mean critters, so she locked herself in the bathroom while #1 son tracked him and killed him like the true hero he is.

In the mean while, the rest of us ate. (He wasn’t coming after me, so I didn’t slow down.)

Now, after watching a favorite musical

with #1 and DIL, it’s just the two of us. G-Man is doing the dishes and I’m, uh, working. Yeah, that’s it. I’m working. And nobody can prove I’m not. LOL.

So . . . TC’s asking, what was your surprise favorite new dish this year? Either a dish someone brought or a new recipe you fixed yourself.

And if you had only the tried and true this year (which probably says something about you–such as “you aren’t very adventuresome”) what’s at the top of your forever-favorites list?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “How’d Your Thankgiving Go?

  1. I made a whole cranberry salad with raspberry jello, celery and pineapple tidbits. It was good. Now that reminds me I must go eat some. I was going to make some grape dumplings but I forgot. Maybe I’ll make those tomorrow. :))

    • Wow, Junebug. No one ever has to remind me to eat. They might have to remind me to stop eating, though.
      Your salad sounds really good.
      Grape dumplings? Really? Are they good? You’ll have to share your recipe with me.
      BTW: I LOVE apple dumplings. If you’d like to whip up a batch of those, I’ll be glad to test them for you.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

