Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Dana Died *sob*

Leave a comment

Dana died. Sad, isn’t it? Actually, more than sad, it was tragic.

Here’s what happened. Yesterday was the Romance Writers Ink meeting. I’m always so excited on the 2nd Saturday of the month when our get-together comes around. And this month I was more excited than normal.

Our speaker was Steve Kime–a motivational speaker from Edmond, Oklahoma. This man ran all the way across Oklahoma dressed as Forrest Gump!

Not only that, he was a friend of Deanna Ponder. I couldn’t wait to hear what he had to say.

(This picture is from his website.)

So Saturday comes, and I pack up my Dana (Alphasmart) and take her with me. In case you don’t know, a Dana is a word processor.

photo shot by me at request; see: http://www.f...

Image via Wikipedia

Full sized keyboard, but light as a feather. I love my Dana . . . but she doesn’t always love me.

I strapped her into my backpack and took off for the meeting. Deanna,

the chapter secretary (our Prez was AWOL and our VP not feeling too well) conducted a short meeting, then introduced Steve.

I grabbed Dana out of my backpack and pushed the on/off button. The Dana sign flashed on. Then it flashed off. Again it flashed on. And again it flashed off, sort of like a dying heartbeat. I couldn’t turn it off or keep it on, so I didn’t have my word processor to take notes on.

Maybe I should have taken my laptop.

I did find a notebook and a pen, and was able to take a few notes, but not nearly as many as I would have if I could have used Dana.

I got Dana out again this morning, still flashing off and on. And when I hit the off button, Pfffft. She died. Big surprise.

Hoping to resuscitate her, here’s what I did. I plugged in her charger and turned her upside down. There I found a reset button and pushed it. Three times.

Cross your fingers. I’ll have to wait until Dana has recharged to find out if it worked.

*sigh*

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

